MK5 GT TDi 170bhp power upgrades

Jaymz

TDI
MK5 GT TDi 170bhp manual
Hi Guys, newbie here so please take it easy :)

Ive done quite a bit of searching around here and on the net and have also looked at the TDi FAQ but am still struggling to source good info on power upgrades for the 170bhp 2.0 TDi.

I am all the way over in Australia and am in the process of purchasing a GT TDi 170bhp manual Golf.

I have found some tuners over here that can remap the factory ECU & take power up to 195bhp but i want more. In Brisbane here I have the APR distributer and will more than likely use them to remap. That is unless you guys can recommend another tuner that can get more power without compromising effiency.

Basically i also want to know what is next? If by tuning alone can reach 200bhp? what else can be done before i start replacing turbos? And what bhp will they take the engine to?
I know putting a freer flowing panel air filter will help but what else can be done?

What is the maximum bhp the standard turbo can flow?

Also can someone tell me how much bhp can the factory clutch handle?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Jamie

Ed's TDI

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 Bora and 2016 Touareg
G'Day Mate!

I have to say that I'm extremely jealous of the fact that you even have such a beast available for purchase Down Under! Not fair!!! :mad:

As far as APR goes, they don't really have much of a reputation as far as TDI tuning. With the 1.8T / 2.0T APR is top-notch! If I were you I'd be looking into what's available in Europe for TDI tuning to see what your options are. I know that Aligator has done lots of tuning for TDI's of all kinds so he's likely got some goodies for the 170hp 2.0 TDI. And the nice thing about that is, with the purchase of a Q-loader from Kerma TDI, you can receive upgrade files via e-mail and upload them yourself.

Hope you find what you're looking for and please post up some pics and data when you get the car!:D

Scott_DeWitt

Vendor
TDI