TDI Aux fuel tank

Biohoward

TDI
2006 TDI, PKG 2
Hello:
I am new to this fourm and I am trying to locate an AUX fuel tank for my TDI. I have googled and found a single mfg in canada but that is a long way from Rockford, IL
I travel a lot and want to extend the range of my vehicle.
If someone can give me a lead I would appreciate it.
You can email me or post here. I will be sure to get the message.
Thanks for any assistance or tips.
biohoward

1stjet

Fuel tank that goes in the spare tire well is at www.greasecar.com .

It is a heated tank and some plumbing will be needed BUT you'll double your fuel capacity.

:) GOOD LUCK:)

darkscout

Grammar Scout
TDI
2003 Golf
Biohoward said:
Hello:
I am new to this fourm and I am trying to locate an AUX fuel tank for my TDI. I have googled and found a single mfg in canada but that is a long way from Rockford, IL
I travel a lot and want to extend the range of my vehicle.
If someone can give me a lead I would appreciate it.
You can email me or post here. I will be sure to get the message.
Thanks for any assistance or tips.
biohoward
Most of us can get 600-800 miles out of a tank. Depending on how fast you drive. 600 miles at 90 mph is 6.5 hours. 800 miles at 60 mph is 13 1/3 hours.

I don't know about you. But my bladder and stomach can't do that. Even after 6.5 hours I could use a stretch. Not to mention the MPG you're going to lose carrying an extra few gallons.

Unless you do the FL to AK route, I can't imagine driving that much that I'd need more than my 700 mile range

LurkerMike

Veteran Member
TDI
-Whitey: 2000 Jetta GLS, Red: 2000 Jetta GLS 5-speed
Yea, I would like to extend the range of our automatic Jetta... 37 mpg doesn't get you very far on 15 or so gallons... :(

I'm gonna try tuning and a few other tricks to try to get it up to at least 40 mpg...

Then I need at least a 20 gallon tank to just get 800 miles... excluding the loss of milage from hauling the extra weight...