White Smoke

Mr Thistle

TDI
2000 Jetta TDI
Hello all. I'm a newbie to the forum and I have read a bunch of threads in regards to the issue I am having, but I cannot seem to get a straight answer from any of the threads.
I have 2002 Jetta TDI and when my daughter was driving it she hit something on a dirt road that hit the oil pan. Of course the oil drained out and the engine died shortly after the oil light came on she said. So I figured the engine has some sort of protection so you don't seize the engine by driving it without oil, but not before it destroyed the Turbo. Anyway I have the turbo out and it is definitely toast, the shaft is sheared and the exhaust turbine wheel is loosely banging around inside the housing and the compressor side is seized. Before I took the turbo out I replaced the oil pan and put oil back in it and it started right up, but when I put my foot down on the accelerator WHITE smoke was bellowing out of the exhaust. My question is why WHITE smoke? If it was just the turbo that was bad and oil was dumping into the exhaust, wouldn't it be BLUE or BLACK smoke? I want to make sure it is only the turbo that is bad before I buy another turbo. TIA.

KLXD

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'98, '2 Jettas
Idunno. I'd think overfueling would give black smoke. Unburned fuel due to cold engine, late timing, low compression etc, would be white.

Buncha oil in the intake burning off might appear white.

I'd pull the plugs, disconnect the fuel pump solenoid, spin the engine with the starter to blow out any oil and due a compression test.

There's no run outta oil, low oil pressure cutoff.

Powder Hound

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'00 Golf 4dr White 5sp, '02 Jettachero 5sp, Wife's '03 NB Platinum Gray auto(!)
So you have an event that blew lots of oil into the exhaust. Therefore, you have an exhaust that is saturated with oil. It is going to take a while before the oil gets burned out completely, and that could take quite a while, depending on how the car is driven.