I just don't understand

bimmerjoe

TDI
2009 jetta highline
Hello, tdi team!

My name it joe and I'm new to the tdi club but not new to the browsing!!.
I am an experienced user of mustang and BMW forums so I understand the use of the "search" button lol..

My few questions if I may,

I cannot understand how anyone gets such great fuel economy out of their jettas? I have owned 2 tdis myself ( 2002, and current 2009) got my mom a 2012 tdi and my wife a 2011...
We all get the same fuel economy.. My 2002 I averaged 800-850 km per tank of fuel using the vent method. But my 09 I get 750km per tank... It is a Manuel, I drive 75% highway and I average 100- 120 kmph. The car is completely stock with 100,000kms on the clock and I purchased it with 60,000kms. Since new best tank I've ever achieved was 850 and that was 110kmph driving straight hwy to new York. (I'm from toronto Canada)... Regular oil changes done at the dealership, fuel filter changes done on time, tire pressure always on point and I don't drag a moose in my back seat ( cars empty)...
I keep reading about people cracking 1000kms and my brain wants to explode!!!

I do want to make mild changes to the engine to achieve better fuel economy and when I'm missing my mustang have the performance. I do not want to change my turbo but minor bolt on
s would do for me. Malone tune? Injectors?

Who can speak my language and help me to better understand..!

IndigoBlueWagon

TDIClub Enthusiast, Principal IDParts, Vendor , w/
TDI
'97 Passat, '99.5 Golf, '02 Jetta Wagon, '15 GSW
I think you need to work on how you drive. I have no idea what it is, but you're doing something that is negatively affecting your FE. I don't think it's speed, as even at 120 kph you should be able to get close to 1000 km out of your '09, and a properly vented '02 should have provided 1000-1200.