Road Trip - Vancouver, BC to San Francisco, CA

grimlock

Veteran Member
TDI
'96 Passat Sedan, Black
Like the Title says! :)

I will probably taking this trip sometime mid/end of next month, for about 6-8 days round trip.

Will be travelling along the Oregon Coast most of the way down, and along the coast in North California. (avoiding the desert heat)

It's my first time for the Oregon Coast, and technically my second time for the San Francisco area (went when I was a kid, barely remember anything...)

For the most part I have the trip planned, but are there any "must-see or do's" you guys recommend?

Also, is it difficult to find gas stations w/ diesel in San Fran area? I'm looking forward to ULSD :). I plan to refuel in South Washington, and trying to avoid fueling in Oregon -- to avoid arguing with gas attendants about pumping my own diesel :rolleyes:. (Or does California have the same law? Car owners cannot pump their own gas/fuel?)

Thanks in advance for any tips/advice!!

Richard

CAATS_Man

Veteran Member
TDI
2006 Jetta, Pkg2, ESP, DSG, & 8 airbags
Grim:
You will soon tire of the coast highway stuck behind a CruiseAmerica rental driven by someone who still thinks he is in his Cavalier. It's been several years since I tried it but even in September the road was plagued by road repairs and plugged with trafffic with few good places to pass.

Certaninly give it a shot but I found that route made I5 look a whole lot better.

CB

djturbulence

TDI
2004 Jetta Wagon 5-spd
CAATS_Man said:
Grim:
You will soon tire of the coast highway stuck behind a CruiseAmerica rental