EGT's on 2.4td ( Volvo 940 )

stevieturbo

TDI
Volvo 940
Diesel newbie here....and not a modern tdi...hope this is ok ??

1993 2.4 straight 6 volvo 940td VAG engine. T3, intercooler, mechanical pump.

This car is an auto, and as such, feels laggy. Boost response/spool is usually quite poor.

So, I fitted a T3 with a smaller 0.25 turbine housing. Doesnt really feel much better. Same compressor. ( kickdown also adjusted so it rarely kicks down, so I can use a decent amount of throttle )
At 10psi, EGT's did get as high as 600degC measured before the turbo.

I try 20psi...EGT's rarely go above 500degC !!! ( Innovate TC-4 )

Ive tried screwing the diahpram on the pump, but it really makes no difference. Can these sieze up inside ? Regardless of how far I adjust it, the car never smokes.
I also have the EGR blocked off.

Any thoughts....or should I just leave it alone, as its sad trying to mess with a diesel automatic volvo !! lol
Basically I just want to try and improve low end torque, as I rarely venture above 3000rpm.

Or is it worth trying to adjust pump timing ? car is noisy...as these are, but runs fine. What effect would pump timing have on EGT's ?

Cheers, Stevie

Last edited:

Rub87

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Ibiza '99 90HP
It sounds like there is too little fuel..

Egt's may go op to 800-900°, especially because it's a non vnt turbo..

You should find a way to push more fuel in it..

Try with 15psi and adjust fueling till it smokes..

stevieturbo

TDI
Volvo 940
As I say... I have tried adjusting the fuel...but it really does make no difference.

Ive screwed the torx bit in, until the locknut barely secures it...and still the same ??

That is some 8-10 turns from standard.

I have another pump...I'll take it apart and see what the other end of teh diaphram looks like, in case it coule be stuck.

DPM

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2019 Rav4 AWD Hybrid, Citroen C4 BlueHDI