Governor?

revkev73

TDI
2002 vw golf
I have a 2002 Golf TDI, 150,000 miles, no major work. The engine seems to run fine but it cuts out at about 3,000 RPM at all gears. It is like there is a governor that cuts it out. Any help? I am no mechanic but I have noticed it when I drove it. (My wife usually does drive it) Now, my son and wife are on a long trip and my son is calling to ask "Why is the car so boggy?" I took it to the dealer a few months ago, thinking something didn't seem right, and they said "Everything was fine after testing it." Something is wrong, it seems. Please advise...

revkev

TurbineWhine

Veteran Member
TDI
Jetta, 2003, Platinum Grey
Sounds like the engine is experiencing limp mode, caused by an over or under boost problem. If a restart of the engine cures the problem temporarily, its almost certainly limp mode. Another possibility is the MAF sensor, which is located just after the air filter in the intake hose. Try removing the MAF sensor plug and see if the car runs better. If it does the MAF is dead. With that kind of mileage on the car, it probably has a very clogged intake, if it has not been cleaned already. Also, you said "no major work". Most people consider the Timing Belt change major, due to the cost. I sure hope you are keeping up with that maintenance.

TW

revkev73

TDI
2002 vw golf
Turbine...

Thanks. I plan to get the timing belt replaced next service opportunity. I was going to have my local mechanic replace it about 20,000 miles ago but he looked at it and said it was "like new" and it would be a waste to replace it. I will replace it. I am not a mechanic and would hesitate to mess with a valve or anything myself. I am wondering why the VW folks couldn't figure out why it was "bogging" last time I told them to check it. The engine does run well and idle well it just cuts out at a certain rpm. It doesn't "misfire" or start hard. It is like driving a u-haul truck with a governor.

revkev

whitedog

Veteran Member
TDI