1998 Jetta TDI won't start

powerram250

TDI
2004 PD Jetta/ 2015 Passat TDI SEL
Hello all, I am new to the TDIs and have a few questions about my new '98 Jetta. First off I bought it from a seller who said it just wouldn't start one day. So checking around I see it's getting fuel, cracked the injection lines loose (fuel squirts out) and I'm getting white (unburned fuel) smoke out the exhaust. I've checked the intake for an air restriction but it is pretty clean in there. Same with the air filter and screen in the air box. My question is how long are the glow plugs supposed to stay on? The light comes on for about a second then goes out. I only get about 1.5V at the g.ps. for a short second then goes back to no volts. What is the temp/time for the g.ps. to operate. So far I have fuel, air, and hopefully compression. I do need to check the compression of each cylinder. Are there any sensors or relays I need to check. Thank You.
P.S. I don't think this vehicle has an anti shudder valve?

powerram250

TDI
Does Chilton or Haynes make a repair manual for my car? Been looking with no luck. Thanks. -Kevin

fischer624

TDI
1998 jetta tdi