www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Order your TDIClub merchandise and help support TDIClub


Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI Conversions

TDI Conversions Discussions on converting non TDIs into TDIS. More general items can be answered better in other sections. This is ideal for issues that don't have an overlap and are very special to swaping engines.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old June 10th, 2019, 20:32   #1
R-TDIGR
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SR
TDI(s): GOLF TDI
Default Mk5 R32 to TDI swap

Iím working on this conversion project and need some help / advice.
So I have 2 complete cars (golf R32 DSG and a golf TDI manual) both mk5.
I want to swap the TDI engine into the R32 Golf, keeping the 4motion and converting to 6sp manual.
DSG to manual 4motion conversion is almost done. No problems there.
Hereís the first problem i am facing and need help with:
Wiring.
The 2 cars obviously have different ecu plugs. The engine wiring is not a problem. (That is from engine to 1st ECU plug).
But the 2nd ECU plug going to the inside of the car needs to be changed. The tdi ecu is EDC16 and the R32 is ME7.1.
So is it best to cut the existing ME7.1 wiring and figure out the correct pinout to go to the tdi EDC16 ECU plug?
I donít know if it possible to take out this complete wiring from the TDI golf and use it on the R32 golf. It just seems like a lot of wiring.
Any other possible issues i need to look out for?
Has anyone done this before?
R-TDIGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2019, 03:13   #2
R-TDIGR
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SR
TDI(s): GOLF TDI
Default

http://pics.tdiclub.com/data/uploads...454FA7EC0.jpeg
R-TDIGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2019, 04:12   #3
R-TDIGR
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SR
TDI(s): GOLF TDI
Default

http://pics.tdiclub.com/data/uploads...4/image252.jpg
http://pics.tdiclub.com/data/uploads...08E19F5BA.jpeg
R-TDIGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2019, 20:08   #4
G60ING
Veteran Member
 
G60ING's Avatar
Default

The mk5 r32 engine chassis wiring is challenging to remove. Unplug everything from the relay panel. The. You will either need to take an extreme amount of time to unwrap the harness going to the use panel or you will need to cut it. When pulling them for swaps I cut them inside the car above the area that goes to the relay panel.
G60ING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2019, 05:06   #5
R-TDIGR
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SR
TDI(s): GOLF TDI
Default

Yes true. That’s why i want to know if it is possible to partially use the R32 wiring. Maybe rewire the essential engine wiring from the ECU to the chassis/fuse panel.

Does someone over here have the ECU pinout for either of these?
Mk5 R32 ME7.1.1 and mk5 TDI EDC16 ?
R-TDIGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2019, 06:25   #6
G60ING
Veteran Member
 
G60ING's Avatar
Default Mk5 R32 to TDI swap

No idea, probably easier to ask for a mk5 r32 pinout in a mk2 forum and the TDI pinout here. You will have to write to book and learn to read schematics and get good with playing with pins and what not.

Maybe install a bulkhead cannon plug at the firewall to avoid diving into the fuse box area. Cut the r32 harness in the bay and the TDI harness in the cabin to give yourself some extra harness to play with.

Or just take the mk5 TDI and install Haldex. I thought they used the same rear pans.

Last edited by G60ING; June 13th, 2019 at 06:28.
G60ING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2019, 16:50   #7
R-TDIGR
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SR
TDI(s): GOLF TDI
Default

I thought about installing the haldex on the TDI golf, but the R32 is a nicer car with lots of extras. Or i would have to swap everything. Interior, body parts etc.

I hope someone can help with the ECU pinouts.
R-TDIGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2019, 15:18   #8
vwztips
Veteran Member
 
vwztips's Avatar
Default

Best bet is to pay for a 24hr service on https://erwin.vw.com/erwin/showHome.do and get the wiring diagrams using the VIN for both cars. Will cost you $35 but you can get just about everything you need and then some for the swap.
vwztips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2019, 15:36   #9
R-TDIGR
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SR
TDI(s): GOLF TDI
Default

Thanks for that info.

I think i have most of the wiring figured out.

Does anyone know if the R32 in-tank fuel pump can be used on the tdi engine?
Is there such a thing as too much fuel pressure?
R-TDIGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2019, 20:05   #10
G60ING
Veteran Member
 
G60ING's Avatar
Default

Use a Holley by-pass fuel pressure regulator to knock the pressure down to 6psi or so. Itís meant for fuel injected cars that are now running a carburetor. I ran one on my TDI SLC corrado. You will just have to reroute the fuel back to the tank. I used the vacuum pressure port on the top of the fuel tank neck to dump excess fuel back into the tank.
G60ING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2019, 06:38   #11
vwztips
Veteran Member
 
vwztips's Avatar
Default

On my first Tiguan TDI conversion I had to add a return line and I installed a T in the supply and return line and connected the 2.

The one I am working on now, I used a different CP3 pump which can handle 65 PSI. Made the install cleaner and easier to route the lines.

Micron2 (Andrew) hooked me up on this set up. He is great to deal with.
vwztips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2019, 06:45   #12
R-TDIGR
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SR
TDI(s): GOLF TDI
Default

Thanks guys. The T-piece option sound easier, I’ll try that.
R-TDIGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2019, 08:45   #13
G60ING
Veteran Member
 
G60ING's Avatar
Default

I ran a t or an H fitting on my 2nd tdi swap (g60) corrado, it quickly killed the fuel pump, I guess fuel pumps like having pressure.

I removed the fuel pump and went with a siphon setup from a mk3 take since I was using an AHU engine.

The first TDI corrado inbuilt was an ALH into a VR6 corrado and the tank was deeper than the g60 so I didnít use the mk3 sending unit.
G60ING is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2004 R32, TDI Swap Candidate? cumminsfromthecold TDI Conversions 12 January 2nd, 2016 19:29
Dynoed my R32 TDI Swap Today danielhf TDI Power Enhancements 52 December 20th, 2012 12:57
FS/FT: Jetta MK-IV Seibon CF hood,TDI shocks,r32 axles,R32 subframe,R32 brakes MD/VA manics01 Private TDI Items for Sale/Wanted 18 September 8th, 2012 13:10
Will MK5 R32 Brakes fit on 1.9 TDI? andyleem Upgrades (non TDI Engine related) 4 October 12th, 2009 18:30
Drooling over the Mk5 R32 Kiwi_ME General Automotive 7 March 6th, 2006 11:40


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
© 1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.15809 seconds with 13 queries
[Output: 111.01 Kb. compressed to 92.82 Kb. by saving 18.19 Kb. (16.39%)]