Your thoughts on high mileage TDI ownership

soldierguy

Veteran Member
TDI
'15 Jetta TDI S DSG
Hey all, it’s been a long time since I’ve nosed around here. I used to have a ‘10 Golf TDI, but sold it to get a motorcycle back in 2011.

Here’s the deal. I’m now a supercommuter, and have been for almost 2 years. My daily round trip commute to and from work is about 225 miles, and all but about 10 miles of that is highway. Fantastic job, and the overall situation will be the same for the next 2-3 years at least.

When I found out I got the job, my first thought was “I need a TDI.” Then the emissions thing hit, the TDIs were no longer for sale, so I didn’t get one. I’ve been driving a ‘16 Prius for the last 20 months, and I’ve got slightly north of 91,000 miles on it (I bought it new). It has been as reliable as a stone. Gas, tires, oil, filters, and wipers are all that I’ve needed to do to it. My commute has headwinds from hell half the year, so I’ve averaged 48.9 mpg since I’ve had it. Around town, without trying, I can average north of 60 mpg.

I can’t fault the reliability, fuel economy, and low maintenance costs of it. But it’s a Prius...I’m sure you understand. I despise the climate controls and stereo...WAY too complex, requiring too much eye time off the road to do simple things...they cannot be operated by feel. Mine has the new-for-‘16 lithium ion battery...not much history on the longevity of those, and honestly, people on the Prius forum I’m on are starting to look at me as a test monkey for longevity of the current generation Prius.

Saw two certified pre-owned ‘15 Jetta TDIs on the local dealer’s lot, both with DSG. The S has 12,000 miles and is priced at $14,000, the SE has 28,000 and is priced at $13,800. I like the SE better because it’s got a few more niceties on it.