www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Order your TDIClub merchandise and help support TDIClub


Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas

VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas Discussions area for A5/MkV Jetta/Golf (2005/2006 PD and 2009 CR).

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 29th, 2019, 08:49   #1
Ramp Rat
Newbie
 
Ramp Rat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: southeast Arizona
Default Power seat memory????

I have a 2006 Jetta TDI BRM with a DSG (no sure that has anything to do with my problem but . . . . ). I can’t get the power seat memory to work on the Driver’s seat (only power seat in the vehicle). The seat moves in all directions and when I use the VCDS I can see all the switches and buttons “Activate” when pushed. So, in my simple mind, the circuits are working. However, when looking at the Measuring Blocks I noticed that the one showing memory shows Inactive.

I have tried to follow the owner’s manual in programming the memory buttons. I turned the ignition on (with and without the engine running). Also, not putting the transmission in Reverse (why would you want to do that anyway)? Press the “Set” button and then press one of the numbered buttons. Nothing happens. I've pressed the Set button and released it then pressed a numbered button. I've also tried pressing the Set button and holding it while I press a numbered button.
Can the seat memory be deactivated and if so, how do I reactivate it????
Thank you for any advice.
Steve.
Ramp Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2019, 13:35   #2
prsa01
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: mpls,mn usa
Default

Going from memory from when I had my brm.

I think you pushed the number, then held the memory button until the chime sounded.

On mine, I had to pull the seat control button, open it up, and clean the contacts to get memory working. Believe the info for doing that was on myturbodiesel.com or here.

Here it is: https://www.myturbodiesel.com/wiki/h...on-vw-or-audi/

Note: my symptoms were the "possessed seat", so different than just not taking programming.
__________________
14 JSW 6mt pano & backup cam
96 B4v eCodes

Last edited by prsa01; September 29th, 2019 at 13:48.
prsa01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2019, 09:44   #3
Windjammer
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cinti, OH
TDI(s): MK4 & Mk5
Default

I can confirm that driving down the road yesterday I pressed the set button & then the #1 button. At that time I heard a chime & the memory was set.
__________________
00 Jetta TDI GLS Auto Black w/Beige leather, Phatbox
06 Jetta TDI Shadow Blue w/Beige Pkg 2 DSG W/NAV & Phatbox
06 Jetta TDI Blue Graphite w/Grey Pkg 2 DSG W/NAV & Ipod dock
06 Jetta TDI White w/Beige Pkg 2 DSG
06 Jetta TDI Black w/Beige Pkg 0 5MT
Windjammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2019, 10:30   #4
Tdijarhead
Veteran Member
Default

Are the seats original with the car or did someone swap them in? I have power heated memory seats in my Golf but I just never hooked the memory part up. No matter how many times someone presses the memory switch nothing will happen on mine.



Maybe someone swapped the power seat in and never hooked the memory part up on yours.
Tdijarhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2019, 21:21   #5
Ramp Rat
Newbie
 
Ramp Rat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: southeast Arizona
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Windjammer View Post
I can confirm that driving down the road yesterday I pressed the set button & then the #1 button. At that time I heard a chime & the memory was set.

Interesting, I haven’t tried to set the memory while driving. So, I’ll try tomorrow.
Ramp Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2019, 21:23   #6
Ramp Rat
Newbie
 
Ramp Rat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: southeast Arizona
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tdijarhead View Post
Are the seats original with the car or did someone swap them in? I have power heated memory seats in my Golf but I just never hooked the memory part up. No matter how many times someone presses the memory switch nothing will happen on mine.



Maybe someone swapped the power seat in and never hooked the memory part up on yours.

I don’t think the seat has been replaced but the thought about the memory not being “turned on” brings me back to one of my questions. How do you turn the memory ON?
Ramp Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power to power with memory seat swap tmladenka VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas 2 May 19th, 2018 10:26
Black Heated, Power, Memory Seat for sale Rehpot Private TDI Items for Sale/Wanted 3 September 22nd, 2013 06:41
Seat Memory suparag VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas 5 May 4th, 2006 09:51
Memory power driver's seat mishajmo VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas 12 February 7th, 2006 18:24
Power seat, memory function - k line needed? Dave_Head Upgrades (non TDI Engine related) 2 October 10th, 2004 18:29


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
© 1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.18480 seconds with 13 queries
[Output: 76.33 Kb. compressed to 66.95 Kb. by saving 9.38 Kb. (12.29%)]