www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You




Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > OBD Scanners

OBD Scanners Discussions on using On Board Diagnostic (OBD) scanners/ Diagnostic Equipment related to TDIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 14th, 2004, 22:17   #1
Wingnut
Veteran Member
 
Wingnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto & Whitby
Fuel Economy: 4.5L/100km
Default How to trouble shoot flakey cruise control

My cruise control started to go flakey a few months ago. It worked, but would cut out if I used my left turn signal sometimes. Then it got worse and would cut out everytime I used my left turn signal. And finally, last night, it wouldn't work at all unless I jiggled the switch. So I thought I would need a new signal stalk? But I thought I would run some tests with the Vag-com to find out what the problem was before shelling out some $$$.

Now there are several things that can cause your cruise to cut out or not work at all. The brake switch, the clutch switch, and of course the cruise control switch. So I pulled out the Vag-com and ran some tests. I knew my problem was in the CC switch, but here is how to test the other switches too.

First thing you need to do is go to the engine controler and look in measuring blocks 6. Here is the info about that measuring block from MoGolfs excellent thread:

Quote:
Group 006 (test with ignition switch on)

Speed
Brake pedal monitor
Cruise control system
Cruise control system (indicates if activated, 0 = activated but switched off, 1 = activated, swtiched on, 255 = not activated)

Cruise control system left digit: Clutch switch closed (clutch not depressed) = 0, 1 = clutch depressed
Cruise control system middle digit: CC/DFI brake pedal switch open (brake pedal depressed) = 1, 0 = pedal not depressed
Cruise control system right digit: brake light switch depressed pedal = 1, not depressed = 0

Right cruise control system 6 digit display has a 1, left to right, when:
Clutch operated
Brake pedal operated
Resume speed operated on the switch
Acceleration operated on the switch
Cruise control and memory switched off
Cruise controll system switched on
So here is a screen shot of MB 6:


Here are some examples of what happens when you push each pedal or function:

Clutch depressed:


Brake depressed:


Acceleration activated:


Resume activated:


Now these are just some examples. In my case, the clutch & brake switch worked fine, so I could rule those out. If you do not get any signal when you push either of those pedals, its likely you have a defective switch.

My problem was the CC switch itself. I noticed that the second number from the right would flicker on & off when I jiggled the on off switch. It was the indicator for CC & memory switched off:


This must have been an intermittent connection in the switch, causing my CC to be flakey and work sometimes and not others. So I removed the switch cover to expose the contacts & cleaned them with some contact cleaner.

To remove the cover, use a flat screwdriver or equivilant and gently pry it off:


This will expose the contacts inside. If you move the switch from one side to the other, you can see the contact points:



I just sprayed some contact cleaner in there and bingo, no more flakey cruise:


Now I know this is just my experience. I don't expect it to help all of you, so don't go hacking your switch apart and doing this unless you have a Vag-com to test the real reason your CC does not work. Most times it is a faulty switch. We all know how high quality the VW switches are
Wingnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2004, 00:04   #2
VelvetFoot
Veteran Member
 
VelvetFoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sand Lake, NY
Default How to trouble shoot flakey cruise control

Very nice!
VelvetFoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2004, 00:18   #3
dlai
Veteran Member
 
dlai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: The Insane Asylum Known As CA
Fuel Economy: Up There
Default How to trouble shoot flakey cruise control

Score another one for the amazing Wingnut! Great job!
dlai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2004, 11:42   #4
Nash_TDI
Veteran Member -TDIClub Enthusiast
 
Nash_TDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Louisville, ky
Fuel Economy: 63.25mpg max
Default How to trouble shoot flakey cruise control

My cruise control did not work for about a year and I could never figure out what it was. I ran the vag-com on it and kept replacing the clutch and brake switch only to find out that the LED taillights i installed had a small capacitor on them and as soon as it was charged the lights would always stay on slightly. It was not noticable throught the taillights but if you took them out and looked then u could tell they were on. So my LED taillights caused the cruise to not work.
Nash_TDI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2004, 15:24   #5
Old Navy
Veteran Member
 
Old Navy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: SE Missouri, USA
Fuel Economy: 28 mpg on PU, 33 on Car
Default How to trouble shoot flakey cruise control

Now leave the cruise switch on and ignore the light till it burns out in 3 or 4 years. Ours has been on for 2 years now.
Old Navy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2004, 04:49   #6
Jump62
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Crofton, Maryland
Fuel Economy: 55/47/39
Default How to trouble shoot flakey cruise control

Hey Wingnut,
That is one he*l of a screwdriver you have there my lad. It slices, it dices, it turns flathead screws and is a dandy prybar. Good post.
Paul aka Jump62
ps. wonder if my K-Bar would be a handy addition to my toolBox ?
Jump62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2004, 15:48   #7
Moo Car
Veteran Member
 
Moo Car's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Joliet, Il
Default How to trouble shoot flakey cruise control

Wingnut.

I hope you have more problems with your car. The more problems you fix (and post) the easier time Iíll have fixing my car when it breaks.
Moo Car is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2004, 23:55   #8
tadc
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Stumptown
Fuel Economy: 45/42/37
Default How to trouble shoot flakey cruise control

wingnut, what's that thingamajig hanging off your air vent?
tadc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2004, 18:40   #9
Wingnut
Veteran Member
 
Wingnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto & Whitby
Fuel Economy: 4.5L/100km
Default How to trouble shoot flakey cruise control

Quote:
wingnut, what's that thingamajig hanging off your air vent?
Sorry, I should have cleaned it before I took the pictures. That is a cup holder. And as you can see, it does a good job of keeping sticky coffee off my radio. It just clips to the vents and can hold a LARGE cup of coffee. I got it at Canadaian Tire for $10, so I'm sure you could find one at Pep Boys or Autozone or something.
Wingnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2004, 09:17   #10
TOBarber
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Default Re: How to trouble shoot flakey cruise control

I have a new-to-me 2000 Golf TDI Automatic. The cruise control works very well and if anything, when I use "resume", it accelerates economically in a higher gear than I could achieve with the accelerator pedal. My problem is that the "light" on the dash has never worked. I see it there in the manual, but I have never seen it on the dash. It is no problem really, but for peace of mind and for the safety of my wife and children is this a simple bulb replacement?

Bill
TOBarber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2004, 11:07   #11
Radman
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Montreal
Default Re: How to trouble shoot flakey cruise control

I have a 2000 Golf also and no light in the dash. I think it only comes on some models or Jettas only. Mine never worked if there is one
Radman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2004, 13:39   #12
GuyGuy
Veteran Member
 
GuyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Rockland Ontario, Canada
Fuel Economy: 5.5L/100K
Default Re: How to trouble shoot flakey cruise control

Hey i have a 2001 and i don't have a light either!!! should I??
GuyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2004, 14:16   #13
Radman
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Montreal
Default Re: How to trouble shoot flakey cruise control

I think only the Jettas have it.
Radman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2004, 15:14   #14
compu_85
Gadget Guy
 
compu_85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Springfield VA
Default Re: How to trouble shoot flakey cruise control

I think the light was added sometime in 2002. But most people don't like it... it does not show when the system is active, only when the switch is in the 'ON' posistion.

-Jason
compu_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2004, 09:23   #15
Wingnut
Veteran Member
 
Wingnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto & Whitby
Fuel Economy: 4.5L/100km
Default Re: How to trouble shoot flakey cruise control

Yep, only on 2002 & newer cars. If you want the light, you have to get a new cluster and ECM. Thats a lotta bucks for a little green light.
Wingnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
© 1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.19757 seconds with 12 queries
[Output: 123.18 Kb. compressed to 102.75 Kb. by saving 20.43 Kb. (16.59%)]