Recommendation for old fuel

Thorshammer

TDI
2004 TDI Wagon
Hello Everyone,

This is my first post. I am a Master Mechanic with multiple brands, but have limited diesel experience. My son bought his first car, a Mk4 TDi Wagon (BEW), and we are going through it now. EGR clean (will do manifold later), brakes, a pair of front fenders (corrosion here in New England). The fuel is old, about 2 years, but it started up, and I took a sample, and I don't see any micro, but I am sure there must be some. I have a couple questions:

-Would it be okay to run the tank down using like Stanadyne or Power Service, then change the filter?
-What will be the changes to the front if I leave out the rust causing foam rubber baffles in the front fenders?
-Why is the H E double hockey sticks does the cowl drain right into the inner fender well, where all the debris goes as well. and does someone make a kit already to redirect this water/debris to the ground, away from the cavity behind the inner fender

Thank you in advance for the replies!

Thor

oilhammer

Certified Volkswagen Nut & Vendor
TDI
There are just too many to list....
Welcome! The fuel is likely fine, but you may want to put some white PS in just because you do not know what season it was formulated for.

You can leave the foam out, gassers are like that, they survive.

I clean that whole area, thoroughly, make sure it is dry, and use Flex Seal in a can and spray the whole underside, and put another coat on after the fender is in place, over the joint to the body. Then just know that every couple years it is wise to remove the fender liner and clean any debris out.

ToBiN

Veteran Member
TDI
2013 Sportwagen TDI/M6; 2006 Dodge 3500 Cummins/M6 Mega Cab; 2011 Jetta TDI/M6 (sold)
You may want to try running Seafoam through the system before the filter change. I like PS products but know many vehicles that have histories of injector failures prevented running Seafoam every 6 months.

KLXD

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'98, '2 Jettas