1.9 TDI to Lada Niva - which transmission?

Ratsoup

TDI
Niva TDI (hopefully soon)
Hi to this forum. I'm actually quite new to auto mechanics - being only rebuilt a old Jawa sidecar bike before. However, I do have a crazy plan to install a 1.9 TDI to a legendary Lada Niva from '83.

To be more clear on the purpose of this project - not to have any misinterpretation. I really fell in love with the car. The design and the way it's built. Very soviet, robust and simplistic. It's small, compact and it's actually quite good off road for it's time. It features 4 coil springs, a transfer case with central diff lock and a slow/high speed switch.
In short, I really love the cars looks and feel, but I loathe the lada engine and gearbox in it. The engine is only 59kw, which isn't it's problem. The problem is that it does not have any torque before having only few at 3000+ rpm. The gearbox is 4 speed, which means highway speed I am at 3500+ rpm, with extreme LOUDNESS due to the engine, gearbox and transfer case vibrations etc. There is an 5 speed option, but it sucks due to it's poor durability.

So, my logic was, let's put a bomb-proof 1.9 TDI into my Niva with a transmission which will not break down. The 66kw one actually fits perfectly for Estonian law, which is that I can not increase the engine power more then 30%, volume more then 20% and weight more then 10%. There are coupe of issues though.