Tried to order '09, conflicting info from dealer

firewired

TDI
Jetta
Went to one of two local dealers tonight. The original salesman did not know any of the specifics about ordering and options, so sent me to the salesman that "knew everything" about ordering the TDI. Only thing is a lot of the information seemed different from the threads that I have been reading here. This is my first time ordering a VW so I wouldn't be skeptical except for what I have been reading on the threads. Could you please correct any misconceptions or mis-information I have been told.

1) Salesman said that there was no such thing as a "loyal edition" as an order-able option. Said that that was the demo car with the "concept car" logo they had received, and each dealer would just get that one. I told him I had seen the ordering guide and it looked like it was an order-able option that had among other things an upgraded stereo. He knew of nothing about this.

2) He said that white was not an order-able color.

3) He said if I ordered by tomorrow night I would get the car their next available allocation (October), otherwise it would slip to their following allocation.

4) He had no idea if I went for the DSG if that included shifters on the steering wheel like it seemed to indicate on several threads

5) When I asked about the TDI Sport possibly coming out in a few months, and being listed but not order-able on VWHub he just looked at me and his eyes glazed over

Thanks for any help.

Lightflyer1

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2015 Beetle tdi dsg
Print the order guide from here and take it with you to a new dealer who has a clue. The person/dealer you are dealing with is clueless.

thefly

Veteran Member
TDI
None
firewired said:
4) He had no idea if I went for the DSG if that included shifters on the steering wheel like it seemed to indicate on several threads