New to TDI but not VW

RoseBud68

Veteran Member
TDI
'99 mk3 Jetta 1.9
Hi folks, I'm new to TDI but not new to MK3. I have two others, a VR6 and GTI.
Just bought this 99 MK3 TDI and have been doing my research on here as well as the usual maintenance you would find on an older car.
here the car

Got is cheap do to a busted shift tower

replaced the busted tower

Got rid of the bird cage and installed the Mk4 in cabin air cleaner housing

Found this and followed it under the car

And found this under the car?????

Its not connected and the car runs. Any insight in this would be helpful .

Thanks

Last edited:

ketchupshirt88

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Passat daily, a bunch of others in the graveyard out back...
the TDI's injection pump pulls its own fuel from the tank. no lift pump is required for the car to run. it can be helpful in modified cars with higher fueling needs though.

the previous owner may have been using that pump for a veggie oil system or as a bandaid to hide issues such as bad pump seals, clogged fuel filter, or air getting into the fuel system from a variety of places.

the tdi pump doesnt like to see more than ~10psi being pumped into it anyway so if that is pumping at a higher pressure than that, you will want to regulate it down or just get rid of it.

RoseBud68

Veteran Member
TDI
'99 mk3 Jetta 1.9
the TDI's injection pump pulls its own fuel from the tank. no lift pump is required for the car to run. it can be helpful in modified cars with higher fueling needs though.

the previous owner may have been using that pump for a veggie oil system or as a bandaid to hide issues such as bad pump seals, clogged fuel filter, or air getting into the fuel system from a variety of places.

the tdi pump doesnt like to see more than ~10psi being pumped into it anyway so if that is pumping at a higher pressure than that, you will want to regulate it down or just get rid of it.