First Build

Smkhzrd

TDI
Golf
Hey guy's I am new to TDI but not new to Diesels. I have a Cummins 5.9 that's around 1200hp+. Just got a 2004 1.9 Golf Pd 5 Speed. Looking for 200-300hp. Car has 170k on it. Golf is Bone stock Right now.

Questions:

Is this a attainable Goal on stock Motor?
Can stock intercooler Handle this Hp?
Can the Tranny Hold This Power?

Any other input is Appreciated

Build list So far:

Cam: Colt stage 2

Clutch: Stage 3 South Bend

Injectors: Still toss up.... Thinking Bosio 783 Pumpe Duse DLC Race nozzles

Turbo: Garrett 17/22

Headstuds

Exhaust: Any Recommendations

Tuneing: Malone

Running a Cts for gauges.

Thanks Aaron

storx

Veteran Member
TDI
2009 Jetta CR140, 2010 Corvette Z06
you would probably want to run stud for those kind of power levels.. as i am unsure of how strong the stock PD studs are around 200hp.. but you would probably max at 180ish with a vnt17 if my memory recalls.. i would highly recommend you go with a GTB2056VK or GTB2060VKLR

Smkhzrd

TDI
Golf
you would probably want to run stud for those kind of power levels.. as i am unsure of how strong the stock PD studs are around 200hp.. but you would probably max at 180ish with a vnt17 if my memory recalls.. i would highly recommend you go with a GTB2056VK or GTB2060VKLR
You mean Headstuds?

What size are those turbo's and where can I go to look at them? How are DD Ability of those? Price as well? Will these turbos fit with out any Modifications?
Thanks

Last edited:

mrspindlelegs

TDI
Golf TDI, 2004, Reflex Silver
Questions:

Is this a attainable Goal on stock Motor?

You can achieve that power output but the connecting rods will be at their limit when hitting 200 HP. Go with upgraded rods (Rosten).

Can stock intercooler Handle this Hp?

Might be doable but I would upgrade this too.

Can the Tranny Hold This Power?