New Owner of 05 Passat (TC on the way) what should I know/look into Keeping long term

BBB129

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Passat Wagon BHW 2004 Jetta 5 spd BEW - 99.5 jetta 5 speed - 1982 Mercedes 300D Manual 4 spd
new owner of a 2005 2.0 tdi passat
Replacing the torque converter now, was also inspecting my tandem pump, and coolant flange but all seems to be good. although I'm getting the parts anyway.

The owners before me were good on getting things taken care of and have plenty of receipts and documentation as far as im concerned.
I've been reading a bit but thought i'd post and maybe hear something ive not seen. It has 240k sounds like they did the delete for the chain pump situation i forget what its called. recently did timing belt and all that as well.

Haven't checked the cam would I need to get a valve cover gasket doing so?
Had a BEW so I imagine its a similar operation. I am fairly new to these TDI
s but ive also owned and loved a few of em....

BBB129

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Passat Wagon BHW 2004 Jetta 5 spd BEW - 99.5 jetta 5 speed - 1982 Mercedes 300D Manual 4 spd
Thank you, that sunroof drain is new info! Did you do the delete? and if so did you notice a fair engine noise difference?

d0u8l3m

Veteran Member
TDI
B5.5 Passat
Yeah I had a delete, manual swap and stage 2 tune done all at once, the engine isn't louder, but the sound is deeper. Slightly more vibration but very negligible/not even worth mentioning imo. I'm planning on doing a delete on another BHW, great engines once you get rid of that design flaw.

Tom in PT

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Passat sedan - SOLD; 2013 Passat DSG; both purchased new
I did a BSM delete, with new motor mounts at the same time, and agree that the additional vibration is negligible. It does increase the oil sump capacity by about 1 qt.