So my friend says my TDi is Diesel is dirty fuel and 3 times the cost of natural gas.

Lucihula

TDI
Jetta Sportwagen
So my friend says my diesel is dirty fuel and 3 times the cost of natural gas.

I was commenting on friend's FB that got a natural gas car and telling him to let me know how he likes it and was telling him how much I loved my jetta sportwagen TDI. He came back with, "Diesel is dirty fuel and 3 times the cost of natural gas" and his friend came at with "The reason that diesel gas lasts longer is because it has a higher concentration of energy within. It doesn't mean that it's cleaner, unless you are using Biodiesel. Regular diesel releases soot that causes acid rain. Pretty much everything made from petroleum is bad for the environment. The best way to help is using it all in moderation. Use less, save the world." I'm feeling so annoyed about all this. I'm new to the Diesel world and wish I had some words of wisdom to throw back at them. Ugh so annoyed. Luckily someone else spoke up and said, "Actually, diesel now days is ULSD, or ultra low sulfur dieselr, which is vastly different then the diesel we knew growing up that emitted huge black clouds of toxic fumes. In addition, you also have advances in particulate filtering on the exhaust which make these cars much better for the environment compared to cars running on regular gas cars. Hence the new line of clean diesel cars we see hitting in the U.S. but which have been available in Europe for a while now.

Last edited:

Seatman

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2014 Skoda rapid elegance 1.6 cr tdi
Bio fuel is terrible for the enviroment too as they need to chop down shed loads of trees just to grow the crops to make the stuff. As for gas, give it time, as soon as it's popular the price will rocket just like diesel did. Back when diesels weren't so common diesel was like half the price of petrol.