Brakes to the floor!

carsaremytoys

Veteran Member
TDI
01 Jetta TDI 5MT, 05 Passat wagon TDI 5MT
I'm doing a large mechanical overhaul. After replacing the control arms, ball joints, and sway bar end links I took the car for a spin. Yes my alignment is off, but what I'm concerned about is the brake pedal going to the floor. After a few miles the pedal did firm up, but still not where I know it should be. I have all new rotors and pads that I matched up to my current. The rotors look the same, the pads do look to be a bit work on the rear, fronts look good. Before I change the rubber lines and flush all my expensive ravenol brake fluid through... I wonder if I have a master cylinder issue?

To recap, I had to front wheels off to do control arms, ball joints, and sway bar end links. Test drive was questionable, allowing the brake pedal to go to the floor. After a few miles the pedal stiffened up a bit, but not to where it should be. Master cylinder issue?

jetmech54

Veteran Member
TDI
Mk4, 1.9L, BEW, 393000 Km
When was the last time the brake fluid was changed? also there is a vacuum line that goes to the brake booster check to see if its cracked or broken.

BobnOH

not-a-mechanic
TDI
New Beetle 2003 manual
Seems obvious they just need a good bleed. If you haven't let the fluid drop below the cylinder in the master cylinder, you should be able to just do a standard bleed/flush (1/2 L per wheel). Don't forget the clutch cylinder.
In my opinion expensive brake fluid is waste, any DOT4 works fine for all but the most extreme applications.

carsaremytoys

Veteran Member
TDI
Thanks for getting back to me. Again, I haven't touched the brakes! And I don't know when they were last serviced. I don't understand why I have this problem...I only did control arms, ball joints, and sway bar end links...

carsaremytoys

Veteran Member
TDI