Noise at idle

Orbital TDI

TDI
2006.5 "Diesel Edition"
I've searched, but haven't found anything similar.

While at a stop or under light acceleration (in gear), I hear what sounds like a 'clapping' or light popping noise. It seems to be rythmic, 10-12 knocks, then stops, and may reoccur several times on a short drive. As near as I can tell, it is coming from the passenger side of the engine bay, I can't seem to localize it better than that. It happens at operating temp, and while cold.

It sounds like some kind of valve popping, but I'm new to TDI's.

It is a 2006.5, DSG, 18,000 miles.

I'll probably take it in to the dealer, but seeing as how it is intermittent, I like to see what everyone here thinks.

Thanks in advance.

dbdubb

Veteran Member
TDI
06 Jetta, 10 Q7
I've got the same clicking noise as you describe. I've often wondered if it was normal or not, but it's been there as long as I can remember, and I've got 66,000 miles now....

fireice

TDI
Jetta, 2005.5 , blue
same here. it is consistent with the heater/ac coming on... i think it is some airduct opening...

i am not concerned..

Orbital TDI

TDI
2006.5 "Diesel Edition"
I forgot to mention, it seems to be independent of the A/C compressor being on. Most of the time that I have noticed it, the compressor has been off.

I appreciate the feedback. If it is normal, I would love to be enlightened and know what the heck it is , since I'm a newbie.:)

mdfirefighter

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 Jetta
Orbital TDI said:
I forgot to mention, it seems to be independent of the A/C compressor being on. Most of the time that I have noticed it, the compressor has been off.

I appreciate the feedback. If it is normal, I would love to be enlightened and know what the heck it is , since I'm a newbie.:)
Mine is the same. I hear it with the AC and or vent on or off.

zanakas

Veteran Member
TDI
2005.5 Jetta 160k - original cam, clutch
Orbital TDI said: