Making more power?

samistheman

TDI
2003 Jetta tdi
So I'm new to the tdi's. Basically, I want more power as any other 16 year old would. Yes the car is in good condition, timing belt is good, oil changed when it should be, maintenance is up to date, so thats all good. I want to make some more power! Probably around 130hp. The thing is, the car has 460,000km and I want it to last to somewhere around 600,000km (370,000miles) and even longer if it will :) Whats the best way to do this, but not sacrifice a lot of liability? Im doing an EGR delete (won't be a problem where I live), and straight piping from the cat back. Ill be cleaning manifold and intake ports at the same time. That'll be my first little mods. Im planning on getting some gauges as well (egt, boost, and oil pressure) Now I know ill probably need a new clutch, heard good things about south bend clutches from kerma, so that will probably be my first choice. Now, getting to around 130hp. Whats the best way to do this? can I be good with just nozzles and a tune? or do I need more, like bigger turbo, pd150 manifold, full straight pipe, etc..
Also, how long do the turbos normally last in these alh tdi's? Don't think mines ever been replaced and 460,000km seems like a lot for one.
Anyways, any advice is appreciated, thanks.

Yourbuddysatin

Veteran Member
TDI
2013 Jetta tdi
Contact Malone tuning or Kerma. They will put you in the right direction for the power goal and let you know what hardware is need for that. 130hp is very easy to achieve.

flee

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 Jetta GLS wagon
A tune would get you close to your goal and is the logical starting point.
Nozzles plus a tune will get you there and beyond but then you'll need a clutch, too.
130 hp shouldn't require any more hardware beyond that. Enjoy the ride!

WildChild80

Veteran Member
TDI
2001 Jetta TDI 2000 Jetta TDI 2000 New Beetle TDI ALL 5 speeds