Newbie: Sulfur Content 15ppm vs. 500ppm

TDI
'06 Jetta
Please note, I am a newbie: I've owned the car for less than two weeks & yes I know how to use the search button :)

Regardless here is my question:

I filled up my car for the 1st time last night at a local South, FL Shell Station.

The station happened to have the combo Diesel/Gas Pumps under the regular car port. Thus, I filled up my Jetta there. However, I noticed they also had the 18wheeler pumps out back.

I noted that the pump I was filling up on had the 15ppm sticker. While walking to the 18wheeler pumps I noted a 500ppm sticker.

Does it make a difference which pump I use? Pros or cons for either 15ppm vs. 500ppm. I assume 15ppm is the NEW Diesel standard & is better?

In addition, due to living is South, FL anytime a Hurricane comes the only fuel available is Diesel @ Truck stops. This is due to the fact that every man / woman / & child / gets 55 gallon drums of gas to fill their SUV.

So if I am forced to fill up at a Diesel Truck stop, is that okay for my car?

Sorry for the more than likely dumbest question you've ever heard from a newbie...

Thank you in advance!

P.S. I don't think I can every own another "gasser"... 520 miles on 13 gallons of gas. 40MPG...A/C on 24/7 with 90+ Temps here in FL

dieseldorf

Top Post Dawg
TDI
ex- 1996 wagon, ex-2000 Jetta
You can use either. What was the price differential?

tditom

Top Post Dawg
TDI
formerly: 2001 Golf GL, '97 Passat (RIP) '98 NB, '05 B5 sedan
If I had my choice, I'd use the ULSD. Your car will run cleaner on it. What was the price diff between the two?

TDI
'06 Jetta
You know my dumb @$$ didn't even think to note a price diff at each pump.

I paid $2.79 & assumed it was the same price. At least that's what was on the curbside Jumbo Price Board.

scurvy

Good Ol' Boy
TDI
2006 Golf