www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Order your TDIClub merchandise and help support TDIClub


Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD)

VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) This is a general discussion about A4/MkIV Jetta (99.5-~2005), Golf(99.5-2006), and New Beetle(98-2006). Both VE and PD engines are covered here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old June 13th, 2015, 21:58   #1
mhintlian
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Frazier Park , Ca
TDI(s): 03 Golf GLS
Default Oil Pressure gauge wiring issue.

So I put in a New South oil pressure gauge, and volt gauge in an 03 Golf ALH MKIV TDI. The volt gauge works perfectly even with the lights on. However the oil pressure gauge is presenting an issue. The gauge illuminates properly but the gauge pegs all the way when the engine is running. I contacted New South who provided a replacement sender. The replacement sender is connected to the oil filter housing using a 42 design oil pressure sender relocation kit. The relocation kit is grounded to the block. Even with a new sender the gauge still pegs all the way. So I am assuming that there is a wire crossed. Per the instructions the red from the gauge connects to the red from the sender and continues to the 76X post under the dash. The white from the gauge connects to the white from the sender. The black from the gauge connects to the black from the sender and continues to a ground post under the dash. The yellow wire from the gauge is connected to the grey/blue wire at the light dimmer switch. So where am I going astray here?
mhintlian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2015, 07:05   #2
Dimitri16V
Veteran Member
 
Dimitri16V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DE
Default

is it staying pegged all the time ?
what pressure range is the sender and gauge ?

if I recall correctly , the sender gets switched 12V , it is grounded thru the block and sends a fluctuating voltage to the gauge
__________________
2004 Golf TDi 412K, 87 Rocco
2016 Toyota Corolla S
2016 Golf TSI ( reinforced metal oil pan , VCDS tweaks)
Aleksander Prokhorenko , Charles Keating ,Russian and US special forces KIA against ISIS. RIP heroes

Last edited by Dimitri16V; June 14th, 2015 at 07:11.
Dimitri16V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2015, 10:44   #3
mhintlian
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Frazier Park , Ca
TDI(s): 03 Golf GLS
Default

The gauge range is 0 to 100.
mhintlian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2015, 10:45   #4
mhintlian
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Frazier Park , Ca
TDI(s): 03 Golf GLS
Default

The needle goes past 100 all the time.
mhintlian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2015, 11:09   #5
mhintlian
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Frazier Park , Ca
TDI(s): 03 Golf GLS
Default

The ground for the oil pressure sender is attached to the ground peg on the block where the trans bell housing attaches to the block above the starter. The sender positive is tied into the gauge positive lead and wired to a switchable positive (the 76X post under the dash).

Last edited by mhintlian; June 14th, 2015 at 11:12.
mhintlian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2015, 06:06   #6
Dimitri16V
Veteran Member
 
Dimitri16V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DE
Default

What happens if you disconnect the signal to the gauge ?
Can you post a pic of the wiring diagram ? Did yo use Teclon tape in the threads of the sender unit ?
__________________
2004 Golf TDi 412K, 87 Rocco
2016 Toyota Corolla S
2016 Golf TSI ( reinforced metal oil pan , VCDS tweaks)
Aleksander Prokhorenko , Charles Keating ,Russian and US special forces KIA against ISIS. RIP heroes

Last edited by Dimitri16V; June 15th, 2015 at 06:14.
Dimitri16V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2015, 07:13   #7
HogWrangler
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Middle Tennessee
Default

Can you post a pic of the gauges mounted? I've been looking in to getting an oil pressure, volt, and boost gauge
HogWrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2015, 08:01   #8
Dimitri16V
Veteran Member
 
Dimitri16V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DE
Default

If you do , get VDO gauges and parts .
__________________
2004 Golf TDi 412K, 87 Rocco
2016 Toyota Corolla S
2016 Golf TSI ( reinforced metal oil pan , VCDS tweaks)
Aleksander Prokhorenko , Charles Keating ,Russian and US special forces KIA against ISIS. RIP heroes
Dimitri16V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2015, 11:16   #9
HogWrangler
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Middle Tennessee
Default

Thanks! I haven't looked at them yet. I'm wanting them to match as close as possible to stock and look factory. My biggest hangup is deciding on where I want to mount them so that they blend as best as possible like factory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimitri16V View Post
If you do , get VDO gauges and parts .
HogWrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2015, 13:30   #10
mhintlian
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Frazier Park , Ca
TDI(s): 03 Golf GLS
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimitri16V View Post
What happens if you disconnect the signal to the gauge ?
Can you post a pic of the wiring diagram ? Did yo use Teclon tape in the threads of the sender unit ?
When I disconnect the sender the gauge goes to zero. I did not use teflon tape on the sender threads. Will send photo.
mhintlian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2015, 13:32   #11
mhintlian
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Frazier Park , Ca
TDI(s): 03 Golf GLS
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HogWrangler View Post
Can you post a pic of the gauges mounted? I've been looking in to getting an oil pressure, volt, and boost gauge
Mounted gauges in the center console. above radio, which is not OEM 3 in 1 but a Kenwood. The space left as a result of the smaller radio is perfect for gauges. Photo to come shortly.
mhintlian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2015, 14:17   #12
HogWrangler
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Middle Tennessee
Default

Thanks! Unfortunately I have the Monsoon

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhintlian View Post
Mounted gauges in the center console. above radio, which is not OEM 3 in 1 but a Kenwood. The space left as a result of the smaller radio is perfect for gauges. Photo to come shortly.
HogWrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2015, 17:52   #13
Corsair
Veteran Member
 
Corsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Auburn, New York
Fuel Economy: 52/48/??
Default

Have you contacted the gauge vendor ? Good chance they have experienced the issue before and may be able to help you quickly along the diagnostic path.
__________________
Best Regards.... Corsair....
2002 Jetta GLS TDI 5-spd 325Kmi, 2014 JSW TDI 6M
2006 Audi A4 Quattro Avant 2.0T 6M
2004 Jetta GL wagon 2.0L (gas) 5-spd (sold)
[also had 03 TDI GLS 5spd wagon bought new, sorely missed]
Corsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2015, 19:52   #14
Bran Diezel
Veteran Member
 
Bran Diezel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bristol, Va
Fuel Economy: 50mpg
Default

Gauges are usually simple.

Reads 0 = open circuit
Reads 100 = shorted to ground

Bad sending unit even though it's new, gauge could be bad but there's one more thing, is the sending unit touching the engine or anything that is metal on it? If so and you don't have a nylon washer or the like isolating the signal from the unit then it is grounded and shorting your signal to ground rather reading resistance on the post. Have you tried ohming the sending unit?
Bran Diezel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2015, 20:27   #15
Dimitri16V
Veteran Member
 
Dimitri16V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DE
Default

He probably has the dual sender and he is using the terminal that replaces the stock oil switch
__________________
2004 Golf TDi 412K, 87 Rocco
2016 Toyota Corolla S
2016 Golf TSI ( reinforced metal oil pan , VCDS tweaks)
Aleksander Prokhorenko , Charles Keating ,Russian and US special forces KIA against ISIS. RIP heroes
Dimitri16V is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil Pressure/Temp Gauge at Turbo Oil Feed Line? arne487 Upgrades (non TDI Engine related) 9 September 25th, 2012 01:27
Oil pressure gauge, need help!! kbrenny Upgrades (non TDI Engine related) 11 July 30th, 2008 04:31
Oil Pressure gauge imkemfly TDI 101 14 December 14th, 2007 12:47
oil pressure sendor wiring question iamatt Upgrades (non TDI Engine related) 3 June 28th, 2007 14:51
EGT and Oil Pressure Gauge ?s - Oil leak! quadboss74 TDI 101 5 June 22nd, 2007 17:18


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.16527 seconds with 11 queries
[Output: 123.62 Kb. compressed to 102.38 Kb. by saving 21.24 Kb. (17.18%)]