www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Order your TDIClub merchandise and help support TDIClub


Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > OBD Scanners

OBD Scanners Discussions on using On Board Diagnostic (OBD) scanners/ Diagnostic Equipment related to TDIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old August 8th, 2019, 18:50   #1
neimis
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Victoria, B.C., Canada
Default Update to VCDS current version?

Micro Can cable, now running VCDS 18.9.1
2015 Golf TDI

Cannot access any ABS output or Basic settings
"This output is not supported by control module"

Will updating to current version (19.6.1) solve the problem?
Any problems if I update?
__________________
92 Passat TD
01 Golf GL TDI
15 Golf Trendline TDI
neimis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2019, 20:36   #2
JSWTDI09
Veteran Member
 
JSWTDI09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neimis View Post
Micro Can cable, now running VCDS 18.9.1
2015 Golf TDI

Cannot access any ABS output or Basic settings
"This output is not supported by control module"

Will updating to current version (19.6.1) solve the problem?
Any problems if I update?

Will updating to current version (19.6.1) solve the problem?
I don't know, but it might make a difference.


Any problems if I update?
Assuming that you have a genuine MicroCAN interface, the latest version of VCDS will work perfectly. There would certainly be no harm in trying, you could always re-install the older version but this should not be necessary.


Have Fun!


Don


P.S. There is also always the possibility that the ABS controller you have does not support basic settings and VCDS is telling you the truth.
__________________
2009 Jetta SportWagen TDI (gone but not forgotten)
2018 VW Tiguan SE (I wish it was a TDI)
JSWTDI09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2019, 23:14   #3
neimis
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Victoria, B.C., Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSWTDI09 View Post
P.S. There is also always the possibility that the ABS controller you have does not support basic settings and VCDS is telling you the truth.
Hmm, this may be true. I updated to 19.6.1 and there is no change.

Is it possible that I need to enter a security access number before I get the "Group" windows? Because those do not show for me. If so, what would be the security number?

My ABS Module:
03 ABS Brakes
VAG Number: 3Q0 907 379 P
Component: ESC H32 0385
Soft Coding: Long Coding
Shop #: Imp: 790 WSC 01383
Extra Gareat 50316

Any light shed on the matter much appreciated.
__________________
92 Passat TD
01 Golf GL TDI
15 Golf Trendline TDI
neimis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2019, 06:55   #4
JSWTDI09
Veteran Member
 
JSWTDI09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neimis View Post
Is it possible that I need to enter a security access number before I get the "Group" windows? Because those do not show for me. If so, what would be the security number?

Yes, this is possible but I do not know the security codes for your car. Are you the original (registered) owner of your MicroCAN cable? If yes, I would post on Ross-Tech's Forum where there are many more VCDS experts than we have here: https://forums.ross-tech.com/


Have Fun!


Don
__________________
2009 Jetta SportWagen TDI (gone but not forgotten)
2018 VW Tiguan SE (I wish it was a TDI)
JSWTDI09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2019, 12:01   #5
jef@rosstech
Associate Ross-Tech Vendor
w/Business number
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: knoxville
Default

VCDS can not force anything to happen, all it does is sends a request to a control module and then show the response it gets back. While there may be 2 cares with the same sheet metal, the electronics within can vary. So the blue car has an ECM that supports "death ray for slow car in left lane" that you can request to enable, your red car does NOT have an ECM that supports death ray, so when you try to code of it, it is rejected.


Everything that you can do with VCDS is base on how "this control module that you are scanning right now" is engineered, what does it allow.


Why not post an Auto-Scan along with what it is your are trying to do?


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AK1lK5DRNcg





__________________
Jef blah blah blah
www.Ross-Tech.com

What should you do first with VCDS? AUTOSCAN!
jef@rosstech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will VCDS work with any version of Windows 7, 8, 10? peterdaniel VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 7 December 21st, 2015 13:24
New release (non-beta) VCDS version available JSWTDI09 OBD Scanners 15 September 23rd, 2013 16:08
VCDS Version 12.10 40 cdste Private TDI Items for Sale/Wanted 3 September 5th, 2013 08:22
Does the lite version of VCDS tell you which glow plug's bad? Xuchen OBD Scanners 9 December 26th, 2011 09:00
Update of current setup, need advice. TDIMAXIMA TDI Power Enhancements 63 July 19th, 2006 04:38


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.13604 seconds with 13 queries
[Output: 71.97 Kb. compressed to 63.77 Kb. by saving 8.20 Kb. (11.39%)]