98 New beetle ALH died on freeway

yahjnby

TDI
1998 New Beetle TDI ALH 1.9 Part owner Sencond New Beetle 98 TDI ALH and a 2002 TDI New Beetle
I'm a self teaching repair noob. Using youtube mostly.
My car is a new beetle, it died on highway. I pulled over. It would crank, not catch.
Just before this, a mechanic had advised me to replace the turbo as it was making a high pitched whine when engaged, and the vnt actuator was jamming. It was also recommended that I clean out the intake manifold.
So, after it died on the highway I figured I'd check the air/spark/fuel. When I cranked it, it would crank but not fire up. I checked for air pull from the hose that leads to the egr/intake. No pull. So, I guessed no air. So I figured I'd clean the intake and replace the old turbo. While I was at it, I put in new oil, oil filter and fuel filter.
Well, that is all now done. Still cranks but won't kick over. I pulled fuel through the filter, and thought I'd check pump prime, but first I tested air pull. No air pull when cranking from hose that leads to EGR. Anti Shutter valve is open and moves freely. Egr is clean and all moving parts move using mighty vac.
I suppose I can tow it to a shop, but I thought I'd go to whatever is next recommend by you all. :D
Latest advice is to check the compression.
On that rout, what is an inexpensive compression test tool for NewBeetle TDI ALH. I have O'Reilly, Napa, Harbor Freight etc near me. Maybe I can borrow one, but maybe then again not for diesel.
Or..
Is there anything else I should check?
A year ago a shop told me cost to fix all the problems with my car outweighed the price of the car, but my late dad used to fix his cars, so I decided to fix it myself. Much has already been fixed. Seems more to go... :D

UhOh

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2000 & 2003 Golf GLS (2005 Mercedes E320 CDI)