Putting an auto transmission back into alh tdi

MeekMetlin

TDI
99 mk4 alh tdi
I’m new to this whole vw stuff and I’ve come to a fork in the road.

I had to replace a rear crank seal on my 99 tdi and that requires me to pull the transmission off, after doing that and replacing the seal I had to put it all back together (the hard part) and I’d like to think I’ve done alright so far but I’m stuck where I am now and need help;

The flywheel with the transmission loosely bolted on and the transmission mount bolts on, doesn’t spin freely any longer and I’m wondering if that’s normal or if I need to fix something I have the shift linkage back on and also wondering if that has something to do with it? Inside the car it’s in neutral so it should spin shouldn’t it? Also is there anything I should keep in mint moving forward? It’s been months in the making and I’m just trying to get it done so I can enjoy my car

Thanks in advance, Brad
(Newbie with a dream)

GoFaster

Moderator at Large
TDI
2006 Jetta TDI
The flywheel doesn't spin freely any longer?

The flywheel - a.k.a. flex plate on an automatic transmission with a torque converter, which is what yours has - is bolted to the crankshaft of the engine, so it had better not spin freely.

The flex plate is meant to be bolted to the torque converter, and at that point the whole torque converter won't spin, because the whole outer housing of it is secured to the flex plate.

If you really meant to say something else ...