1996 Passat TDI No Start

Gus3

TDI
96 TDI Passat
I am in the process of helping a neighbor who has a 96 TDI Passat. What it is not doing is starting will not turn over I get no rotation of the starter.

What I have tested was the control plug at the starter (black/red) wire no power with the key to start. Then I moved back to the clutch switch (brown / red/white) and no power with the key to start.

Should I be looking for a fuse or relay that provides power or do I go directly to the ignition switch?

I have no experience with VW but a lot of experience with Jaguars. I am a little handy with tools and do my best to find the problem and why.

If you could give me a little guidance it would be greatly appreciated.

Gus
www.jagrepair.com

MarsBar

Veteran Member
TDI
B4V#2 "Flash", 2000 Jetta GL, B4V#1 "PaTuDI" (2008-2018 RIP)
Is it cranking but not turning over, or is there absolutely no sound or activity or anything when the key is turned? Is the GP light coming on in the dash?

No GP light, check the infamous Relay 109.

Nothing at all when turning the key, check the ignition switch itself.

ToddA1

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'96 B4V, '97 B4 (sold), '97 Jetta (scrapped)
Clutch switch has no control of the starter on a B4. Connect the starter solenoid directly to the battery and it should crank. If not, I’d suspect the starter.

Otherwise, the switch or lead to the starter solenoid could be faulty. This assumes you have power going to the main starter lug.

-Todd

Gus3

TDI
96 TDI Passat
Lights come on on the dash but no clicking or movement at the starter motor.

Gus

Is it cranking but not turning over, or is there absolutely no sound or activity or anything when the key is turned? Is the GP light coming on in the dash?

Gus3

TDI
96 TDI Passat
The only wiring diagram I could find shows a safety switch on the clutch linkage and I checked that switch for control power but no joy.