www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI 101

TDI 101 Got a simple/basic TDI question? Are you a newbie (new to the forums). Feel free to post your question here.

Old March 29th, 2015, 15:32   #1
1gcrazy

TDI(s): TDI
Default Rough running 03 ALH and takes forever to start.

Hey guys, I'm new to the TDI World but I actually build 2.7t's and DSM's for a living.
I picked up this rough running TDI and have done a lot of reading so far and I'm not sure where to start.
Here's what I have so far.

I have a Vagcom and here are the codes:
2 Faults Found:
17656 - Start of Injection Timing Regulation
P1248 - 35-10 - Control Deviation - Intermittent
17964 - Charge Pressure Control
P1556 - 35-10 - Negative Deviation - Intermittent
Readiness: 1 2 0 0

I just checked timing and it's saying, "timing is to far advanced to be graphed".

There is also a lot of air bubbles coming to the injection pump.

There is lots of white smoke on deceleration while in gear as well as when you start the car.

Last edited by 1gcrazy; March 29th, 2015 at 15:38.
1gcrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2015, 16:43   #2
terrydtdi
Veteran Member

Fuel Economy: BEST 58 ( 900 mile Club ) av. 46, worst 38, Mobil 1 TDT

First thing to do would be to get the timing in spec. Do you know how to adjust the timing?
2K jetta gl tdi 5spd 380k, RC5+, 17/22, PP764's, ported head, ARP head studs, 11mm, 3" turbo back, Kerma OMI, PD150IT & race pipe, VR6 air box & MAF, Godspeed SMIC, 3 bar map, PD lift pump, 681 fift, TT LCA's, spindles, brakes, GLI rear brakes and interior, VR6 axles, mcnalley boost/egt gauge, SBC Stage 2 Endurance, bagged, Michelin Pilot Super Sports
terrydtdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2015, 16:46   #3
terrydtdi