VW polo 1.4 cuts out and won't restart.

fred888

TDI
VW Polo 1.4 TDI
Hi guys.
I'm a newbie to this forum so I would like to introduce myself and request some assistance with a problem which would have me tearing my hair out - if I had any.
We have a Polo 1.4 TDI (3 cylinder) 2006 which has become unstable.
Firstly a bit of background history:
The car's been perfect for the past 3 years of our ownership.
Our daughter borrowed it and managed to fill the tank with petrol!!!!!
She didn't realise until she'd driven 100 yards and it stopped.
We managed to drain the system and refill with diesel.
The engine eventually started and after settling down, seemed fine.
However, on the way home it cut out and took about half an hour before starting again.
So now, when cold it'll start first turn of the key but when warmed up, won't restart. (Until cooled down)
Also, if I drive at a decent speed, then coast - the revs drop to zero. Restarts on lift of clutch pedal.
I think it could cut out at any time when idling in traffic.
I've replaced the fuel pump (in tank). No difference.
Replaced the fuel filter. No difference.
Now I'm suspecting air in the system or a blockage in a fuel line somewhere.
A difference I have noticed since the petrol debacle is that there is no whoosh sound when the ignition key is turned (fuel system priming). This sound was always there when the car was running perfectly.
I'm looking at the fuel return system now but don't fully understand what a couple of objects are: 1. An electrical sensor/valve near the tandem pump on the return pipe. 2. A cylindrical block clipped to the coolant expansion tank where the supply and return pipes are all connected. My manual doesn't mention either of these. Any info on these would be greatly appreciated.
Most of the stuff on the internet relates to the 4 cylinder engine so no help there.
Hopefully my symptoms listed above will ring a bell with someone. I'm almost at my wit's end.
Any suggestions welcomed.
Thanks

JB05