2004 Jetta TDI - Turbo Issues HELP PLEASE!

Bkreinbe

TDI
2004 Jetta TDI
I have a 2004 Jetta TDI 1.9L (BEW). At 97K miles it went into limp mode on a hill, died, wouldn't start again, and was towed. After it sat awhile, we started it up, and it did turn over, but it blew a lot of smoke (white smoke), and wouldn't reach more than 1500rpms. It was also leaking oil from the exhaust. I took the EGR valve out and cleaned it, and when I put it back in, THEN the check engine lights came on.

I'm a rookie so I don't really know anything about diesels or turbos. I ended up taking the car to a shop and the guy told me that the #3 injector was no good, so I had it replaced. Now he's telling me that the turbo is no good and must be replaced. He wanted to charge me $1700 for a turbo. I said no way. I found some online for way cheaper, and I wouldn't be opposed to buying one from a private seller, but I'm not sure what all is compatible as far as parts numbers, etc.

I put an ad on craigslist looking for a turbo. I got a response from a local guy saying "I have a good working Garret VNT 15, no. on turbo/manifold is 038 253 019A, from a Jetta, will this work for you?"

I haven't responded, because I don't speak Jetta. I need serious help! I'm in wayyy over my head with this car.

Bkreinbe

TDI
2004 Jetta TDI
I got codes for "#3 misfire" "random multiple misfire" and and EGR code - when I ran the codes for myself.

The car is in a town an hour from where I live, and I don't know all of the specs on it (it's actually a car my girlfriend bought before I knew her - and now I get to deal with the mess). So I called the mechanic and told him I was going to buy a new turbo for it and I needed to know the engine code. He called me back and told me BEW. I asked if he was sure. He said without a doubt.

04SlvrJetta

Veteran Member
TDI
15 Passat SE DSG