Prospective Buyer Questions

Strider

Veteran Member
TDI
2006 Jetta
Hi All,

I'm looking at buying an '06 Jetta TDI in the near future, and had a couple of quick questions.

1) Does anyone know if there would be room in the C-Pillars to run a few cables, if I get the side-impact airbags? I'm a HAM, and am looking to install a radio in the car when I get the chance, putting a Comet B-10 (http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/hamantm/3918.html) on the roof. By the same token, are there any useable raceways to feed a power cable from the battery to the trunk? I know there is a accessory jack in the trunk, but from what I've read, the wire guage is such that there is a significant voltage drop at the current required to run the radio while transmitting.

2) Has there been any work done on publically documenting the CAN bus protocols used within the vehicle? I'm a computer/electronics engineer, and have thought up a bunch of fun toys to add to the vehicle, but they all rely upon tapping into the existing data busses. If not, would anyone be interested in starting a project to do so? I have some experience working with the CAN protocol in other applications, so the real challenge will be figuring out the data on the bus itself.

3) Can anyone reccomend a good dealer in the Vancouver, BC area? A little while back, I visited one dealer who *grumble* tried to stear me away form the Jetta TDI and towards the new GTI, which while a nice car, isn't a Diesel. :p

Anyhow, thanks in advance!

Regards,

Hans Johnson

PS: The specs I'm looking at is a TDI, pkg 2, blue graphite, with the black leather.

whitelite777

Veteran Member
Strider said:
Hi All,

I'm looking at buying an '06 Jetta TDI in the near future, and had a couple of quick questions.