2002, ran wvo, fixed limp mode, good vacuum, egr problem still.

Melvis

TDI
2002 Jetta TDI
Ok so I just replaced n75, map sensor, turbo actuator and vacuum lines. Started car idled awesome. Tried to throttle up and it died. Started it back up and no go. Tested all vacuum lines all were clear and tested perfect. Fired car back up it started great again let idle this time and about 2 minutes into idle it started to miss and died again. So took took pipe off to check shudder valve and it never moved but once the egr activated started smoking out intake bad but kept running. So I was stumped. Started reading and nothing really pertained to the problem so I racked my brain. Unplugged egr vacuum line and plugged. Car started and ran awesomely with great boost and no misses whatsoever. So my question is with it previously running wvo, do you think that the valves are so bad that it isn’t getting enough air with the egr open? Another question, sorry I’m new to TDIClub, is do you think I should just run the car like it is and when the timing belt is do then just pull the whole head and clean it or pull it now and do a good inspection and clean it? Can I even clean it or adjust valves and see if that makes a noticeable difference? Oh and another thing I forgot to add, previous owner had car for about 40,000 miles and ran 5w30 synthetic not 5/40 not sure if it will add into your assessment of my particular situation. Thank you

Last edited:

flee

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 Jetta GLS wagon
Re-check that you replaced all the vacuum lines correctly.
What was the car doing that made you replac those other components?
How much carbon is in the EGR/intake manifold?

Melvis

TDI
2002 Jetta TDI