Lifter noise on cold startup.

DieselBrownie

TDI
'13 Passat
Hey folks, I Just thought I'd pass along some info about an ongoing situation with my car, in case you're having the same symptoms.

My '13 passat TDI has been exhibiting a noise on cold start-up that sounds a lot like a collapsed lifter. This began right around my 10k service and I'm currently just over 20k miles. Upon a few visits to VW, (and them "not finding the problem,") I decided to make a youtube video of the elusive sound.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unDplH7Ago4

In the dealer's defense, the sound didn't present itself every morning as loud as you hear in the video, but it was there none the less. I was a mechanic for about 10 years, and recognized the sound right off, but I'm sure the service department talks to lots of "mechanics" who bring their car in for service. :)

Upon showing the service department my video, I was given a loan car, and have been in said loan car for about two weeks now. I was called last Friday by the service manager and told that VWOA's area technical representative had authorized a set of tappets to ordered and subsequently installed in my car, which should be completed sometime this week.

When I first came across this problem, I searched this forum for similar occurrences, but only found instances of the AdBlue solenoid doing its purge at start up. As you'll see in the video, this noise is quite different, and occurs concurrently with the solenoid's noise. I'm hoping that this is a rare and limited occurrence, but in the case that it is not, I'd like it documented here for others to search and see.

I'll likely have my car back soon, and I'll give an update on whether or not this fixes the problem.

-Matt

unixb0y

Veteran Member
TDI
2013 Passat Comfortline 6MT Nav
Hey folks, I Just thought I'd pass along some info about an ongoing situation with my car, in case you're having the same symptoms.