www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You




Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD)

VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) This is a general discussion about A4/MkIV Jetta (99.5-~2005), Golf(99.5-2006), and New Beetle(98-2006). Both VE and PD engines are covered here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 19th, 2017, 22:41   #16
Nevada_TDI
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Reno, sort of...
Default

^^^ I agree, and sometimes if you thought you saw it move, it did; it moved too far.
__________________
_______________
2001 Jetta GL TDI, 35/15% Tint, Ventectomy, Catectomy, EGR-ectomy, Stage 4 TDTuning, PP764's, Stealth 17/56 Garrett, VCDS Hex+CAN, South Bend Daily Driver 2 Clutch, DG Short Shifter, Previous Diesel: 1983 Rabbit Diesel
Nevada_TDI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2017, 05:23   #17
777funk
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Missouri
TDI(s): 2003 Jetta
Default

It was WAY over-fueled before. It's smooth as silk now and drives nice. The exhaust smells clear also. Before it smelled of unburned diesel.

I might try turning it up just a hair to see what happens.
777funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2017, 16:17   #18
JDSwan87
Black Swamp Thing
 
JDSwan87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Michigan near Toledo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 777funk View Post
It was WAY over-fueled before. It's smooth as silk now and drives nice. The exhaust smells clear also. Before it smelled of unburned diesel.

I might try turning it up just a hair to see what happens.
Like has been mentioned many times before in this thread, you need to see what the IQ is with VCDS. It is important and it's not something you can willy-nilly guess at. Just because it "runs fine" doesn't mean the IQ is correct. The IQ is altered by the ECU while cold then the ECU stops altering it once the engine reaches full temp.
__________________

Stella (Mine now): 2005 Shadow Blue Jetta Wagon TDI 09A
Mods: RC1. VCDS HEX-CAN USB (near Toledo, OH)
JDSwan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2017, 19:03   #19
777funk
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Missouri
TDI(s): 2003 Jetta
Default

Is there harm in being a hair too lean? It's not a 2 cycle where it's lubricated by it's fuel.

At this point the engine seems to run well and the exhaust smells like it should.

I have vag-com lite but can't see spending $300 plus on the full version at this point.
777funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2017, 19:45   #20
wonneber
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Monroe, NY, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 777funk View Post
I have vag-com lite but can't see spending $300 plus on the full version at this point.
Vag-com lite (free version) will do everything except the timing graph.
I registered it and can do the graph. $99 or so
wonneber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2017, 20:21   #21
777funk
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Missouri
TDI(s): 2003 Jetta
Default

I picked up an ebay cable and am having no luck installing it. I use computers regularly and can follow directions. I think the cable is not liking my computer(s) or vice versa.

I read on the Vag Com light site tonight that it also has the timing plug in. I didn't know it could do IQ.
777funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2017, 09:27   #22
wonneber
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Monroe, NY, USA
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by 777funk View Post
I picked up an ebay cable and am having no luck installing it. I use computers regularly and can follow directions. I think the cable is not liking my computer(s) or vice versa.

I read on the Vag Com light site tonight that it also has the timing plug in. I didn't know it could do IQ.
I've been in the IT field for 25+ years now.
I could not get 2 or 3 com port cables to work before I stumbled on the one I use now.
USB cables did not work either because they become a higher com port# then 4 which is the limit for VCDS Light.
The cheapo Bluetooth ones do the same.
Unfortunately there's no numbers on the one that works for me and I lost the info on it when my e-mail started deleting saved messages older then 3 years.
wonneber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2017, 11:43   #23
777funk
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Missouri
TDI(s): 2003 Jetta
Default

I read you can change the com port and I was able to change mine from 4 to 2 but I believe I must have gotten a dud cable. They refunded my purchase price thankfully.
777funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2017, 15:21   #24
jackfolstam
Member
 
jackfolstam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: CA
Fuel Economy: 48mpg
Default

I've used this one successfully with VCDS Lite, $10 on Amazon.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
jackfolstam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2017, 14:08   #25
777funk
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Missouri
TDI(s): 2003 Jetta
Default

Just ordered one of those. Thanks for the tip.
777funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2017, 21:45   #26
Seatman
Veteran Member
 
Seatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Fuel Economy: No idea
Default

There's a thread around here somewhere that shows you how to set up vagcom if you're having connection issues. Setting up ports and all.
Seatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2017, 09:43   #27
wonneber
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Monroe, NY, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seatman View Post
There's a thread around here somewhere that shows you how to set up vagcom if you're having connection issues. Setting up ports and all.
What I need is how to get VCDS lite to recognize a non standard port.
I can choose com 1 t0 4 but my ELM Bluetooth adapter becomes 7.
I think the address it uses is also non standard.
wonneber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2017, 16:40   #28
\/\/0J0
Veteran Member
 
\/\/0J0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Fuel Economy: At least 2x that of my TJ
Default

Can you still go into device manager and change parameters for associated hardware? Assign it a different port number?

Sent from my mobile look-at device
__________________
I miss my TDi

"Those willing to sacrifice Liberty for Security deserve neither" -Ben Franklin
\/\/0J0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2017, 19:06   #29
wonneber
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Monroe, NY, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by \/\/0J0 View Post
Can you still go into device manager and change parameters for associated hardware? Assign it a different port number?

Sent from my mobile look-at device
Tried that, didn't have an option for it
wonneber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2017, 19:24   #30
\/\/0J0
Veteran Member
 
\/\/0J0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Fuel Economy: At least 2x that of my TJ
Default

It's been a while since I've dug into a Windows machine... Back in the days of XP, it was no problem to change parameters as such but I know Microsoft has been taking away features like this in the name of simplifying the computer experience

Sent from my mobile look-at device
__________________
I miss my TDi

"Those willing to sacrifice Liberty for Security deserve neither" -Ben Franklin
\/\/0J0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resealed IP Question/Help mudduck TDI 101 6 November 16th, 2015 12:24
Did my ALH timing belt and resealed my IP last week. Celco VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 3 September 27th, 2015 07:10
Resealed IP on AHU and now won't start Paulsta VW MKIII-A3/B4 TDIs 11 September 30th, 2014 19:56
Engine has just started running-on/dieseling when ignition shut off Octang Frye VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas 10 August 12th, 2011 09:50
Has anyone resealed an A3-1Z IP? honda_vtec2 VW MKIII-A3/B4 TDIs 34 December 2nd, 2008 10:55


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.14908 seconds with 13 queries
[Output: 123.80 Kb. compressed to 103.16 Kb. by saving 20.63 Kb. (16.67%)]