www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Order your TDIClub merchandise and help support TDIClub


Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas

VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas Discussions area for A5/MkV Jetta/Golf (2005/2006 PD and 2009 CR).

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 11th, 2019, 23:53   #1
flyingmitch
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: cali****syou
Default 06 jetta ac problem (let's beat the dead horse some more)

Alright folks my Jetta had the typical problem of the AC taking several miles to get cold. I replaced the Refrigerant control valve (Usual problem) Now my AC won't come on at all even though I've charged it and the low pressure switch shouldn't be causing it to cut out.

So I tested the voltage to the RCV and it was jumping from 3v to 30vdc which is odd considering the car only has a 12v system. I guess the question is, would a bad fan control module cause this?

Does anyone know the typical range of the voltage to the RCV?
flyingmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2019, 10:03   #2
relumalutan
Veteran Member
 
relumalutan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michigan
Default

Have you scanned the car with VCDS? That would help finding the issue. Also you can test the functionality of the fans with VCDS. Are you sure that you have not under or over-charged the system? If the system is undercharged, you will get a G65 sensor pressure error. If the system is over-charged, you will also get an error, and the AC will not come on.
__________________
relumalutan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2019, 18:29   #3
Ramp Rat
Newbie
 
Ramp Rat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: southeast Arizona
Default

Iím going thru a similar issue with my í06 Jetta TDI. I first thought that the system was needing more 134a so I bought a can and added to the system. However, the system started shutting down almost as soon as I started it. I bled some Freon off and the system started working again but didnít fix my problem. It seems that the system was over charged and causing the overpressure switch to stop the compressor. My problem ended up being a blend motor in the under dash system.
My suggestion is to borrow or rent a set of AC gauges and see what your system is doing. You will be able to see the low and high pressures to compare to factory specís .
JMHO, Steve.
Ramp Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2019, 07:19   #4
Carlos_TJ
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Tijuana Mexico
Default

^^thats some good advise.
With the availability of can-with a single gauge R134A itsneasy to overfill.
The beast way to load the right qty is to evacuate refrigerant (not dump into atmosphere) vacuum it, amd charge the system using a scale following the car manifacturing specs and use the high and low side gauges to confirm system behavior.

However those magic single gauge R134A are optimistic at best. In the hands of the layman with no training or tools can make your AC problem harder to diagnose.
Carlos_TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2019, 08:01   #5
jimigunne
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Corpus Christi tex
Default

On my 06 jettat tdi, probably all the jettas, there isnt a straight 12volts open/close. Its a pwm ( pulse width modulation) signal. With a test light you will find one wire has a constant 12 volts. The other wire is pulsed at around 4 pulses a second by going to ground to energize the solenoid. The length of time of each ground ' pulse' determines how much refigerant flows. The right way to check it is with a scope. But i could see i was getting some sort of rapid ground pulses by putting one lead of my Fluke DMM on the ground signal wire and other to ground post of battery with continuity check selected.......and got a rapid beep-beep-beep.
jimigunne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2019, 08:12   #6
jimigunne
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Corpus Christi tex
Default Compressor turn-on pressure for 06 Jetta TDI?

I think i now have the correct RCV valve from Polar Bear. Will install and then re-attempt to charge the system.The first attempt didnt work, as I think I really had the wrong RCV valve. Kept adding in more and more r134a, but the compressor never turned on even when when low side went above 100 psi. If the compressor still refuses to run, i really dont want to subject the compressor to such high low side pressure again. So when i start charging th low side, at what pressure should low side ptessure zwitch activate and start compressor running?
jimigunne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2019, 08:48   #7
banshee365
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: FL
TDI(s): 06 Jetta
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimigunne View Post
I think i now have the correct RCV valve from Polar Bear. Will install and then re-attempt to charge the system.The first attempt didnt work, as I think I really had the wrong RCV valve. Kept adding in more and more r134a, but the compressor never turned on even when when low side went above 100 psi. If the compressor still refuses to run, i really dont want to subject the compressor to such high low side pressure again. So when i start charging th low side, at what pressure should low side ptessure zwitch activate and start compressor running?
How are you recovering and charging your refrigerant?
banshee365 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2019, 14:45   #8
jimigunne
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Corpus Christi tex
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by banshee365 View Post
How are you recovering and charging your refrigerant?
Now with a robinair unit. I installed the new rcv from polar bear. This was an exact match for the bolt-on, pig tail style rcv that was installed on the car. Matched it up by the pics on their web page. The lady at Polar bear said that the pig-tail style is aftermarket, not oem! So it was replaced before i bought car at 180K. i also replaced the smaller ac fan....found it bad, read open circuit for ohms check.also the receiver dryer was replaced, but not expansion valve or compressor. Its a Sanden. But it was working with a discarge temp of 43 deg. It just would sometime take 30 minute (driving) before compressor would kick in and start cooling. So this second attempt with a second rcv from polar bear has had a similar result. On recharge only about 8 oz went in and the low side hit 100 psi while the high was 85. Blower on high, temp set to min, ac control switch on(and light illuminated. Car idling
. so i shut off recharge attempt at that point. Compressor is still not turning on. I checked car while idling with vcds. Auto hvac. Show no malfunctions, no codes. (Its the Climatic. Control, not climatronic). Neither engine fan or ac fan ever cycled. But engine heat stayed normal, and i understand the ac fan doesnt run until pressure hits 130, and it never went over 85. Seems like the compressor seals on rotary vanes are not destroyed....would not the low and high sides equalize pretty quick if compressor was shot?
Now i read on another thread that vcds can run a test on the ac hvac system and it teports back shut-down codes. This is what i need to do, but i didnt see this system test option in vcds. ( I just ran the test for all controllers.) Have to search for the manual on this diagnostic test.... or better yet a video primer.
I really dont want to spend the 250.00 or so for a reman compressor on this car since its got 280k miles on it! Thanks!
jimigunne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2019, 14:52   #9
jimigunne
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Corpus Christi tex
Default

Another thought. I could connect my scope up to the hi/low wires going to the rcv and look at signal. What is the signal when in shut-off mode vs signal for max cooling? Probably nobody in forum knows?
jimigunne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time to beat a dead horse. GTB selection for BEW. CGDoig TDI Power Enhancements 15 May 19th, 2017 14:01
Time to beat the dead/replacement battery horse. HELP PLS!!! c17chief VW MKVI-A6 Golf family including Jetta SportWagen (~ 2010-2014) 24 July 22nd, 2013 12:07
Oil question - beat dead horse again Timbo1080 VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 5 February 27th, 2004 12:11
Not to beat a dead horse, but (rear wheel noise)... Cabok VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 7 November 24th, 2002 17:04
Sorry to beat a dead horse but...Syntec vs Delvac Cleve Fuels & Lubricants 38 December 6th, 1999 19:28


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
© 1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.18394 seconds with 13 queries
[Output: 92.04 Kb. compressed to 79.32 Kb. by saving 12.72 Kb. (13.82%)]