Newbie's Get Valuable Information Here!

jrholt

Newbie\'s Get Valuable Information Here!

I am very grateful for all the info on TDI Club. I have been able to get squeeks & rattles fixed. Decide on proper modifications for my TDI, and even decide on a chip (Wett) thanks to Dave & Griffin. . .even got a group buy going in the classified.

I'm seriously interested in the skid plate but after looking under the vehicle, wondered why a person couldn't have a smaller, say 18" x 36" stainless plate fabricated and bolted up to protect the pan and tranny. It may be cheaper and do a better job? Comments? Thanks, JRH

Bob_VT

TDI
2000 Jetta GLS Silver
Re: Newbie\'s Get Valuable Information Here!

Hello, I am a newbie here too (first post). I recently purchased a 2000 Jetta TDI and have been going through a "learning curve" myself. Today I did a full oil change and I am missing the belly pan.

I made a paper template and transfered that into a carboard template. This week I am going to visit a local metal shop who specializes in stainless steel. Once I get the details worked out I will pass them along. My initial design is much larger than 18 x 36. I intend to protect from under the bumper to the cross member. I even have plans for an oil plug access hole.

I strongly agree that stainless is the way to go.

Now if I can only get a replacement wheel lock key from the VW dealer I will be happy. I have a flat (tonight in my driveway) and no way to remove the wheel.

Bob

[ October 12, 2002, 18:29: Message edited by: Bob_VT ]

MOGolf

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 Golf GLS TDI Reflex silver, rough road suspension and steel skid plate, 2004 Passat Variant, Candy White, rough road suspension and geared balanced shaft module, and much, much more. 2016 LR RR HSE TD6, 2019 Jaguar I-PACE