WTB Jetta Wagon TDI 2002-2003

TDI
2002 Jetta Wagon TDI (DuluthRooster's former ride)
I am a noob to this group and I have been lurking for a while prior to joining up, gathering knowledge. I am a longtime fan of diesels, grew up with diesel M-Bs in the family and the former owner of a recently deceased 92 M-B diesel (450K mi.) I have been admiring VW diesels from afar for a long time and now circumstances present its self to act.

I am looking for a 2002-2003 (preferably 2003) Jetta Wagon GLS TDI under 115K mi, but with the proper maintenance done (fresh timing chain, etc.) Unfortunately, due to a decree from the significant other, it has to be a slush box tranny. As in everything in life, I am looking for one that is gently loved. Price? In the reasonable and right range for the state of the car. I am located just outside of Tampa and am willing to travel to find the right one, but time and other constraints put a distance limit to include Georgia, in addition to Florida.

Thank you for your help and guidance in this endeavor and it is an honor to join a group so passionate about a really neat vehicle.

Stumblingthunder

aja8888

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Out of TDI's
I wish I could help you as I was looking for the same several months ago. I settled for a very clean, low mileage Golf I found nearby. They (wagons) are hard to find in that condition for a reasonable (whatever that is?) price. Keep you eyes open on Craigslist, this forum, and eBay and be ready to pull the trigger quickly. Although an automatic should be easier to find due to its inherant failure tendencies and replacement cost issues.

Good luck,

Tony

TDI
2002 Jetta Wagon TDI (DuluthRooster's former ride)
Price Range I am aiming for is $10-15k, appropriate for mileage, wear, etc. I am refreshing my searches several times a day on autotrader.com, cars.com, crazedlist.org (to cover multiple Craigslist markets) and ebay motors.