Clutch Replacement Questions

Dieselspool

TDI
2001 ALH Jetta
After overestimating the strength of my stock 170,000 mile clutch in my 01 Jetta by trying to do a burnie on dry(Idiot, right?), it is now time to replace my clutch. I’ve only had my TDI for about a year so I’ve never had to replace the clutch. Do I need a flywheel as well? I see kits with a flywheel and without and don’t know what I need. Also, what are some sources/models of budget conscious clutches that will handle small power upgrades. I want to do light upgrades, but I’m also a college student going to a pay-as-you-go school so I need something affordable that can handle a little more than stock. Thanks!

Gippeto

TDI
2003 Jetta sedan
Do you know where to get your flywheel machined locally? Can you afford the additional down time while the machining is being done?

Answer no to either question, and the kit is likely the better option to pursue.

Al

MichaelB

Veteran Member
TDI
2014 Passat SE DSG
After overestimating the strength of my stock 170,000 mile clutch in my 01 Jetta by trying to do a burnie on dry(Idiot, right?), it is now time to replace my clutch.
I can't help here but I assume you're over enthusiast expectations about a car with 170k is a lesson well learned. I was young once too and paid the price by pushing my car to levels that when it was old and very used it failed :cool:

Dieselspool

TDI
2001 ALH Jetta
Do you know where to get your flywheel machined locally? Can you afford the additional down time while the machining is being done?

Answer no to either question, and the kit is likely the better option to pursue.

Al
So I do need to purchase a flywheel along with the clutch? Or can I just replace the clutch? That’s the main question I guess is do I *need*a flywheel to replace the clutch?

IndigoBlueWagon

TDIClub Enthusiast, Principal IDParts, Vendor , w/
TDI
'97 Passat, '99.5 Golf, '02 Jetta Wagon, '15 GSW