2003 TDI crank shaft position sensor

Hoffy85

TDI
2003 Jetta Sedan TDI 88,800 Miles 5 Speed MK4
My 03 Jetta threw a code that came up as "injection pump A Rotor/ crankshaft position sensor malfunction". I did a little research and found some info that showed someone replacing it without removing the timing belt. Has anyone replaced it that way? Are they pretty simple to do?

Last edited:

oilhammer

Certified Volkswagen Nut & Vendor
TDI
There are just too many to list....
Stop using a generic scan tool. Your ALH engine has no cam sensor. It does have a crank sensor. Your thread title and post are conflicting.

Hoffy85

TDI
2003 Jetta Sedan TDI 88,800 Miles 5 Speed MK4
Well the price of a general code reader is what I chose to buy instead of going the spend route for something like VCDS. Excuse me for using the incorrect wording i'm not a professional mechanic.

oilhammer

Certified Volkswagen Nut & Vendor
TDI
There are just too many to list....
Lots of folks here (most) are not professionals either. Take it to someone that is, if you can't or won't get the proper scan tool. VCDS is CHEAP. Take it from someone who IS a professional, that tool is peanuts compared to anything for any other brand that can do what it can do.

Our shop spends $10k+ every year to have brand specific scan tools. And you have to KEEP paying, because the updates and subscriptions expire.

I updated my VCDS cable that I bought over a decade ago this week for free. Still works perfect. :p

Generic scan tools, especially on German cars, will just send you on a wild goose chase. You'll end up throwing parts at it and never fix it. I get Volkswagens brought here all the time because of that. Covered with new parts, none of which had ANYTHING to do with the actual problem. :rolleyes:

Tdijarhead

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2003 TDI Jetta Daughters Car, 2001 TDI Beetle, Wife’s car, 2005 Golf TDI Mine, all 5 spds