Won't start :(

dugawug

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 Golf GLS
Two weeks ago: got in, very slow start, but succeeded.

Last week: unable to start, but lights came on, turning key resulted in a few partial engine-turn attempts, then nothing but clicking.

Jump start worked ok, took it to Firestone who claimed the battery and alternator was fine... (though I got them to order me a new battery since mine was under warranty)

Today: totally dead, no lights, clock set itself to 12:00, jump start did nothing, won't make a sound or flash a single light.

Any idea the source of my issue? I recently stopped driving it to work, so it sits unused M-F. Not sure a coincidence.

Last edited:

dugawug

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 Golf GLS
I used a voltmeter and though I'm no pro with it, it appears I only got a 6V reading off my batter. So I take it there's my answer?

When I got it jumped last weekend, I had a 20 minute drive to Firestone who said the battery was fine. My question to them was "ok, but is that just because the alternator charged it on the way here?" They didn't directly answer my question but blabbed in circles around it.

dugawug

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 Golf GLS
Well, the new battery worked for the first few weeks. I went on vacation for 10 days (didn't disconnect the battery) and now she won't turn over. Guess it could be from sitting, but I've had it go longer sitting idle and had no problem.

Anyone any thoughts? Firestone first suggested it could be some kind of electrical pull happening somewhere. Sounds like an expensive nightmare to investigate. They said the alternator checked out fine. I heard it couldn't be the starter since I was able to get it to turn over with a jump start.

Last edited:

csstevej

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 golf tdi 4 door auto now a manual, mine, 2000 golf 2 door M/T son's,daughters 98 NB non-TDI 2.0, 2003 TDI NB for next daughter, head repaired and on road,gluten for punishment got another tdi 2001NB,another yellow tdi NB