New to TDI, how do they drive?

door

I just relocated, and face a 100 mile commute each way daily. Understandably, I am looking for high milage, low cost vehicle that rides comfortably on the interstate for 3 hours per day... When the planets align, maybe I will find something...

A friend suggested I look at a TDI, but have some questions. What is the best option for me? Jetta, or Beetle? What is the real mileage they get on the interstate, especially travelling at 80mph average (trafic moves around here...). how do they drive/handle on the interstate? Are they loud? A lot of vibration, bounce around a lot, or smooth? Finally, are they safe, Beetle vs. Jetta?

Thanks for the input, this is a great site.

lord_snot

Veteran Member
TDI
2000 Golf, 1999 Beetle
I've been making a similar commute for the past 3 years (103 miles each way and yes I am crazy). I started doing it in a Honda Civic. I love Hondas, but compared to the A4 VW's (I'm in a 2K Golf GLS TDI) that Civic was like riding in a roller skate. The Golf has been great. I now have 132K miles on it. The only problems have been the window regulators (both fronts failed and I drove the car for a year like that before VW finally fixed it under warranty at 103K miles) and my MAF has just gone out (currently running in limp mode). My Golf has been the best car I have ever owned. It feels solid. Road noise is minimal (with the 15" tires). I average around 45 - 46 MPG driving 80 - 85 MPH. Another big plus for this car vs others is the larger fuel tank. I can safely go 3 days before needing to fill up again. With my Honda (averaged around 42 MPG) the tank was smaller and I found myself stopping for gas every 2 days (really gets to be a pain in the a**). As for bounce, I haven't really noticed any. I do notice alot of body roll in turns though. Oh yeah, the brakes are great. I would suggest going with a Golf. They are simply more practical and you can haggle a better deal because everybody else wants the Jetta and Bug