Well, it happened again. The 4th total loss on the same car

16vjohn

Vendor , w/Business number
TDI
EA288 CVCA 6MT
My MkIII just experienced it's 4th total loss due to collision, none of them were my fault. I think I'm a pretty good driver, I've easily logged 750,000 miles in my life, but this particular car is some kind of crap magnet.

The first accident was due to the previous owner, sliding on the ice and hitting a concrete barrier. The passenger side fender, steering and suspension components as well as the front bumper cover were destroyed. I bought the car and did a complete restoration with a parts car. That was at about 160k.

The second accident, a Jeep Cherokee ran a red light and hit the driver's side quarter panel. This totaled it (again) and I haggled the insurance up to $4,100. Mind you, this was right after I finished paintwork and had the car perfect. New turbo, rebuilt head, gaskets, etc, etc... (son of a *****) Since it was totalled, it received a salvage title. It was too much work to fix, so I pocketed the cash and intended to replace the car. To get me by I hammered out the damage and used gaffer tape to affix a tail light until I could source a new car, that was at 198k.

The third accident was when I was getting on the interstate, a 2 lane on ramp. A brand new lifted redneck style Duramax was in the lane next to me. Suddenly he swerved into my lane and smacked the driver's side of my car. He jumped out of the truck and said "Woah, sorry man! I was adjusting my GPS!" It left rubber swirls and scratched the whole side of the car. My only joy was that my mirror left a crease in his truck from behind the front headlight all the way back along the bed. It was a work truck and they decided to settle, I got $500 cash for that. That was at about 235k.