Ministry of Labour Ticket

vwmikey99

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 GLK 250 + 2017 Tacoma + 2014 Jetta
Hey everyone..

I received a ticket for not having proper safety boots on in a home subdivision. I am an electrician on the site. (My coworker and I, had just come from picking up lunch to eat at the house... before gearing up (boots/hardhat/tools/etc), the MOL officer charged me with ""Worker failing to wear protective footwear as prescribed..etc.." basically during our lunch break while we were sitting around eating.

What I am wondering...

He wrote my birthdate wrong on the ticket. Two days off.. He put a 28, instead of a 26. The driver license number he typed in had my correct birthdate in the last six digits)...but my actual Birthdate was wrong. I'm not sure if it was some way of trying to do me a favour.

Does this entitle me to a free pass? Anyone have experience getting off on a ticket because of an improper date of birth?

If anyone is wondering.. the fine for not wearing boots on a construction site is 195+40 victim fine surcharge = $235. Yikes!! ... from what I understand, this is a good deal...because he was not going to charge my employer.

petea4

Veteran Member
TDI
'01 Golf GLS
I think the birthday stuff/bad spelling on tickets to get off are myths.

Just challenge the charge. Were you working or holding any tools? If your just holding your sausage having lunch offsite(in car, outside of house), tell him to take a hike.

vwmikey99

Veteran Member
TDI
Literally just sitting beside my lunch box inside of the main floor of the house that we were to going to be working in after lunch. My coworker and I did not have hard hats nearby. He let us off that, and just boned me with the safety boot fine.

imo000

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2009 M-B ML320 Diesel & '05 Passat TDI Manual 5-Speed
Its a crappy situation but since you know you were in the wrong, its time to man up and pay and be done with it.

amacd

Veteran Member
TDI
2000 Jetta