driver seat position in TDI Golf 01 vs 06

kafka

TDI
inbetween TDI Golf
Hi.
I am wondering if anyone has a 06 TDI Golf and could send pic of the driver seat. Does it let you sit straight with no slouching?
I had a 01 Golf that I totally loved except the seat position which made me slouch in an uncomfortable position and increased back and hip pain.
I was told that the seat design was changed in the 06 model but have not been able to find one to try. I am interested in buying a TDI again.
Thanks.

Lex4TDI4Life

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 Golf-Ute TDI GLS 5spd Manual
Go to your local stealership and sit in an '06 GTI or regular Golf?

theinternot

Veteran Member
TDI
2012 Passat TDI SE
I am a tall driver and commute 130 miles per day. I specifically purchased an 06 VW because of how well I fit in it, and because I can sit with my seat back in a fully upright position without hitting my head on the roof.

K5ING

Mega-Miler
TDI
Silver 2001 Golf GL TDI 5-speed
I'm not sure how long you've had your Golf, have you tried all of the seat adjustment options? Between adjustments for back and forth, height, seatback angle, and steering wheel tilt and telescope, I can't see how you can't find a position that you don't slouch.

I don't mean to insult your intelligence, but I see that you're a newbie on here, so you might have just gotten your Golf. I've talked to people on here who have had their VW for over a year and never new that the steering wheel telescoped.

I'm 5'11" tall, and I usually put the seat back about 80%, and about 80% of it's full height, then put the back more upright than not, and have the steering wheel about 50% out. It's more "chair like" than the usual low seat, reclined position that most people like. I can drive all day and not feel sore. Try that and see if it's better.

Last edited:

glitdi

Veteran Member
TDI
Tdi asv motor in a mk3 golf, om642 in a wk jeep