www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Order your TDIClub merchandise and help support TDIClub


Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI Power Enhancements

TDI Power Enhancements Discussions about increasing the power of your TDI engine. i.e. chips, injectors, powerboxes, clutches, etc. Handling, suspensions, wheels, type discussion should be put into the "Upgrades (non TDI Engine related)" forum. Non TDI vehicle related postings will be moved or removed. Please note the Performance Disclaimer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 9th, 2019, 08:52   #1
martin33100
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: UK
TDI(s): VW T5 2.5
Default EDC 17 platform engine in a EDC 16 platform vehicle.

Has anyone managed to put an EDC 17 engine and running gear into a EDC16 vehicle and managed to get it to run correctly?.
The vehicle is a VW T5 2.5PD running EDC16 but the engine being used as a replacement will be an Audi 3.0tdi running EDC17.
I would have the complete Audi as a donar i.e. I would use the ECU and loom but would probably need to get the ABS and speed monitor on the T5 to communicate with the new ECU.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
martin33100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2019, 09:18   #2
B3n
Newbie
 
B3n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Germany, NRW
Default

ABS and ECU can cause troubles. Check if it works without errors. If you can't fix the errors with coding or other tricks, you can maybe mount the Audi ABS. Dashboard rpm will be interesting.
Your T5 maybe does not have too much control modules. So maybe doable IMO.
I was doing a similar thing in the Passat B7. Its working for me.
__________________
VW Passat B7 Variant Highline 2.0 CR-TDI new engine DFCA
B3n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2019, 09:48   #3
martin33100
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: UK
TDI(s): VW T5 2.5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B3n View Post
ABS and ECU can cause troubles. Check if it works without errors. If you can't fix the errors with coding or other tricks, you can maybe mount the Audi ABS. Dashboard rpm will be interesting.
Your T5 maybe does not have too much control modules. So maybe doable IMO.
I was doing a similar thing in the Passat B7. Its working for me.
It's the ECU and ABS communication that is worrying me but does the ECU only use speed recognition for gear based torque limiters, gear based maps, traction control etc?.
As the converter was going to be Quattro I was wondering if you could do away with the gear based torque limiters and traction control if you couldn't get the ECU and ABS to successfully communicate with each other.
martin33100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2019, 09:57   #4
oilhammer
Certified Volkswagen Nut Vendor
 
oilhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St Louis
Fuel Economy: fantastic
Default

How exactly were you planning on mounting it? VAG doesn't do tranverse V engines, and the Transporters (at least the T4 that we DID get) angle the engines pretty far forward (inline or VR). Whereas the longitudinal mountings of the V engines are straight up and down. There isn't any off the shelf gearbox I would think you could use.
__________________
oilhammer
www.cardocautomotive.com
oilhammer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2019, 11:15   #5
martin33100
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: UK
TDI(s): VW T5 2.5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oilhammer View Post
How exactly were you planning on mounting it? VAG doesn't do tranverse V engines, and the Transporters (at least the T4 that we DID get) angle the engines pretty far forward (inline or VR). Whereas the longitudinal mountings of the V engines are straight up and down. There isn't any off the shelf gearbox I would think you could use.
I was going to mount the engine inline and use the complete Audi drive train.
It's already been done with a RS4 V8 with the Quattro running gear and the V6 isn't as deep so the V6 may even go in without modding the bulk head.
martin33100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2019, 11:35   #6
oilhammer
Certified Volkswagen Nut Vendor
 
oilhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St Louis
Fuel Economy: fantastic
Default

OK, so then it would seem very little if any of the original T5's electronics would remain anyway. In essence, you are reskinning the Audi with the Transporter. So, I would hardly call your question as necessary as I would have thought. You are going to be removing most of the T5's innards anyway, why not just use (in addition to the engine/trans) the Audi's ABS, Cluster, etc., etc. ?

Not trying to be snarky here, I really am curious as to why you asked. What of the Transporter's original bits will be left over?
__________________
oilhammer
www.cardocautomotive.com
oilhammer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2019, 13:27   #7
martin33100
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: UK
TDI(s): VW T5 2.5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oilhammer View Post
OK, so then it would seem very little if any of the original T5's electronics would remain anyway. In essence, you are reskinning the Audi with the Transporter. So, I would hardly call your question as necessary as I would have thought. You are going to be removing most of the T5's innards anyway, why not just use (in addition to the engine/trans) the Audi's ABS, Cluster, etc., etc. ?
Not trying to be snarky here, I really am curious as to why you asked. What of the Transporter's original bits will be left over?
Your not being snarky at all, I was basically asking if it was possible in any way to just use the Audi engine, engine loom and ECU but configure it in a way that it doesn't require a speed input from the T5's ABS system.
I admit the blue T5 above that had the engine transplant used an earlier B7 platform engine and not a B8 like I would like to use.
martin33100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2019, 05:13   #8
CNGVW
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bob Mann Auto, 111 High St, Pembroke MA 02359
Fuel Economy: Built a 2002 TDI Jetta that got 120 mpg of diesel using a CNG blend.
Default

this what to look forward to
__________________
Bob Mann
www.DRVOLKS.com
bobtec@comcast.net

VW and Audi Master Technician and TDI Specialist. Bob has over 35 years of experience in the field, and is listed on TDIclub.com as a trusted TDI Mechanic.
Bob is also known for his CNG conversions and is a consultant for Patrick Racing.
CNGVW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2019, 22:33   #9
Syncrogreg
Default

If you can consider standalone racing ECU I can help you for v6tdi also cuaa 2.0
Syncrogreg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2019, 13:34   #10
martin33100
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: UK
TDI(s): VW T5 2.5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syncrogreg View Post
If you can consider standalone racing ECU I can help you for v6tdi also cuaa 2.0
Bobby Singh has currently done the maps on my T5 for the last 3 years and die to his experience on the B8 V6's I was thinking of using OE management and letting him do all the mapping.
martin33100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2019, 17:48   #11
adamss24
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Great Britain
Fuel Economy: 35-45mpg
Default

You're being brave tackling that engine swap on a t5...as for Bobby mapping your motor is one of the best choices so far, he really shines with edc 17 ecu's ! I would have done it a bit differently just as oilhammer pointed: fit the t5 shell onto the b8 audi floorpan
...you then have all the modules work just as they should !
adamss24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2019, 00:17   #12
martin33100
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: UK
TDI(s): VW T5 2.5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamss24 View Post
You're being brave tackling that engine swap on a t5...as for Bobby mapping your motor is one of the best choices so far, he really shines with edc 17 ecu's ! I would have done it a bit differently just as oilhammer pointed: fit the t5 shell onto the b8 audi floorpan
...you then have all the modules work just as they should !
If I do a conversion I will be buying a complete working car so I would have every bit to transplant in the T5 if required.
martin33100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECU swap 80 pin EDC 15V to 121 pin EDC 15VM manual created ! tail090382 TDI Conversions 8 April 25th, 2014 18:25
EDC-16: can it/is it usable on the NMS? mattfrayage VW Passat Family (NMS and B7) TDIs (2012+) 6 September 5th, 2013 18:26
EDC 15 or 16? Redneck Truck VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 1 February 28th, 2012 11:11
Who does EDC-16 tuning for VNT-17/22 on a BKD? surfpilot111 TDI Power Enhancements 2 September 8th, 2009 12:44
Bosch EDC 16 gredi Other VW Group TD(I)s 0 August 26th, 2003 11:23


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.15138 seconds with 12 queries
[Output: 110.09 Kb. compressed to 93.24 Kb. by saving 16.85 Kb. (15.30%)]