2009/10 Jetta TDi Reliability

WeatherNerd

TDI
None yet.
I'm looking at buying a Jetta come spring, and I'm curious about the reliability. I had an 2002 SVT Focus, that was an absolute pile of crap to say the least, and I really want to avoid making the same mistake twice. So I'm wondering what issues to look out for, beyond the fuel pump issues that is.

Last edited:

AlcoC420

Veteran Member
TDI
I'm new to VW and new to diesels and we have only 10,000 Miles on our '10 JSW, but at this point, we 're very happy with the car. It's great fun to drive, the styling and interior details are excellent and the fuel economy is outstanding.

MarylandJetta

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 Jetta TDI
I'm at 1 year and 14k miles; not a single issue with the car. Drove it from MD to Nevada last summer and it was an amazing road-trip car.

El Dobro

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2017 Bolt EV Premier, 2023 Bolt EUV Premier
'09 has had problems with the DSG and there's currently a campaign for some of them.

cuiab533

TDI
2010 Jetta TDI DSG
Any car can be problematic. For me, three months ownership, 6000 miles and no problems. I have owned Volvo and BMW. The Jetta is a satisfying and comfortable road car.

jbright

Veteran Member
TDI
2009 Jetta DSG
I can only vouch for my car and, so far, it has been reliable for 35,000 miles, as well as fuel efficient, a great pleasure to drive daily, and an example of quality craftsmanship and engineering, inside and out (including the electrical system). That said, who knows what the future will bring? But I have a gut feeling this car will continue to be a good one (I've had some that weren't). We'll see. . . . . .

Last edited:

ruking

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2003 VW Jetta, 5 M, Reflex Silver: 09 Jetta, 6 Sp DSG, Candy White: 12 VW Touareg, 8 Sp A/T, Flint Gray
There are NOT a lot of 09/10 Jetta's with 100,000, 150,000, 200,000 miles, etc. So my 09 with 19,000 miles has been completely and utterly flawless.