Bigger Turbo Question

DieselDeeds

Veteran Member
TDI
2014 Q5 TDI S-Line + Black Optics Package
This is a pretty general question regarding turbocharged cars. If someone were to swap out their stock turbo with a larger turbo, would their cruising fuel economy (sayyy 60mph) with the larger turbo be better than their cruising fuel economy with their smaller stock turbo? Logic tells me since the larger turbo spools later and hits max boost later in the RPMs, you’d get better mileage with the larger turbo.. but I’m also not an expert on forced induction and I can’t find any literature online.

My particular setup is a North American Audi Q5 tdi with a dpf delete, 3” to dual 2.5” straight pipe exhaust, Darkside intercooler, and Malone Stage 2+ tune. I’m looking at the Darkside GTD2872VRZK turbo and I’m wondering about the outcome of mileage compared to stock. I currently get 39-42mpg on the freeway and I’m only willing to go with A larger turbo as long as it won’t hurt my mileage; my car is primarily a family trip car but also an all-in-one fun car for me. Thank you for any input!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

cuban11182

Veteran Member
TDI
1984 CJ w/ ALH and 1994 XJ w/ PD150/ALH hybrid
Here are my thoughts:

In a perfect world, with no wind, hills or anything else that can play a role in MPG we have starting point A and ending point B. With this perfect car and 100 HP and 200 lb ft of torque it works hard enough to get from point A to B using a certain amount of fuel. With the same perfect car and 200 HP and 400 lb ft, for it to go the same distance the engine is working less, thus more efficiently. More power, makes the engine work less, if the conditions remain the same. The problem is we have heavy feet and seem to hit the go pedal a little harder (well at least I do, lol), negating the MPG increase.

DieselDeeds

Veteran Member
TDI