Dashcam and Gentex mirror hard wiring help

superskid

Veteran Member
TDI
2012 Jetta TDI
I have a 2012 TDI and plan to install my gentex autodimming mirror and dashcam that both just showed up in the mail.

There are tons of threads on how to hard wire this into the overhead wiring wear the map light and sunroof controls are.

I think I will hook them all up to switched power so that my garage won't be able to be opened without the key, and so that the dashcam doesn't kill my battery.

My question is can I use wire taps for both of these on the switched power from the overhead harness or am I going to start drawing too much power.

I'm a bit of a rookie when it comes to wire gauge, power draw etc... My thoughts are I should be OK as I can split my 12v 3 ways, but that is powering devices usually drawing 5v running through the cigarette adapter and not directly tapped into a wire that must be running 5v overhead only? (I think)

For anyone in Canada good deal on the dashcam I bought. Link to the deal thread below:

http://forums.redflagdeals.com/bang...cessor-1080p-dash-cam-53-95-w-coupon-1468499/

voodooboy

TDI
'13 Sportwagen TDI
Did you buy the version with the battery (G1W/H) or the capacitor (G1WC)?

Although this might not be directly related to what you've asked here, I recently bought the G1W-C dashcam and decided to go with a 'semi hard' wire setup. From the front 12V power outlet, I routed the wire underneath the dash, through a dash-side panel, up the A-pillar trim, through part of the roof trim. But for some reason, the cam doesn't work properly with the front 12V power outlet. More details here:
http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=413107

If you don't mind, could you try plugging it into the front 12V outlet and let me know if the camera correctly turns ON and OFF with the ignition? I'd really appreciate it!

NonStop

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 GLS Jetta