Prospective TDI owner with some questions

Clip67

TDI
2015 Passat SEL
Hello everyone! Brand new guy here looking to buy a VW "buyback" TDI in the near future. I did post a hello in the new person thread, and have been reading up a bit on here, but have some specific questions...

I'm looking at the Passat and possibly Jettas, 2011 - 2015 and prefer the manual tranny, but the auto wouldn't be a deal breaker... My budget is about $14 - 15K or so max. Major differences with the 2015s?

Is there a particular year that has been more problematic in terms of reliability that I should avoid? One year better than the others? I'm fairly mechanically inclined and can do some of my own maintenance work, but I am new to diesels in general.

I'm reading some horror stories about the HPFP blowing up... Is this still an issue or have the bad ones been phased out? Any way to check on this before buying a bad one?

Things to look out for with a buyback? Maintenance items to take care of right away? It looks like some of these cars were sitting for a while...

Is the DSG auto or manual transmission more reliable in general?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:

CheapBastard

Veteran Member
TDI
2014 JSW
I just picked up a DSG wagen last month and wanted something with less than 30k on it but I would have bought higher mileage with a manual transmission. I saw my car pop up on car gurus for $9900 with less than 15k on it but it was a salvaged title, got smacked in the rear, repair was just alright but for the mileage I couldn’t pass on it.

I immediately changed the oil and fuel filter and have an air filter ready to install, that’s about all I’ve done for maintenance. I run fuel conditioner for added HPFP lube and cross my fingers, I saw the car fax and it was pretty vague, appears to have sat on the lot for a year and was totaled out at 1500 miles

Mongler98

Top Post Dawg
TDI